Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Speakers Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for X-140 Speakers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

X-140 Speakers

Feel the beat with these PC speakers that deliver plenty of bass.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X-140 Speakers
Review 1 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pete
from New Jersey
Expertise: Proficient User

Resolved a huge problem

Date:18 September 2010
Just purchased a 19" LCD flat screen HDTV for an eating area in the house. The TV has great video but terrible horrible audio. Only 1.5 watts/speaker output with very little volume and sound was totally flat. Purchased a pair of X-140s and plugged them in to the rear headphone output jack on the TV. WOW, what a difference. Plenty of volume but more importantly, vastly improved audio fidelity. The TV sounds normal now. I was going to return the TV to the store but now I don't have to. The sound is super.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
juke
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Deal

Date:13 June 2010
This is an excellent product for the price.
I have only two minor issues:
1 .Loud pop when turned on.
2. Feet are not non-slip, which makes plugging or unplugging headphones or an external source a two hand operation. I compensated for this by placing the "right" speaker on non-slip shelving liner. Eventually I will stick on some non-slip feet.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
costa

best buy

Date:29 May 2010
the speakers are great had them for 6 mouths work great great sound you can plug ipod straight in lovely speakers
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
justin
from Las Vegas, NV
Expertise: Tech Savvy

These Speakers are a Great Deal

Date:24 March 2010
These speakers are a great deal for $30. They are very well built. They sound great, actually for a 2.0 system they have pretty good bass due to the bottom pressure driver speakers. The only thing bad about these speakers is that for their size they are a bit under-powered (5 watts RMS) which can be a bit decieving considering their size, but for such low wattage they have great sound.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Asiansamurai
from California
Expertise: Proficient User

Alright Purchase

Date:31 January 2010
These speakers last a very long time. I liked the design of them with the grills on them. Alright sound, alright base. The only problem I had with them and will solve many people's problems would be the buzzing. So I have my speakers on my desk, and everything eles around it, my I-phone, computer, etc. Once in a while this weird crazy electric buzzing came from my speakers. After 4 months dealing with It I was tired so I like I finally found out It was from my I-phone being too close. I don't know if its just from my I-phone or this happens from other electronics. I hope you guys fix that issue. The last issue would be poor workman ship inside the speakers. Example is super glueing the screws. Not cool, gave me a blister. Lol
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Resumai
from Seattle, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Incredible Speakers, I love them!!!

Date:14 January 2010
I have worked many years in the audio fields, pro, home, auto. Sure,
I would not put these up against a set of DynAudio speakers.
But for a $30 set of speakers, they are "darn good"...
For use as a computer speaker in an apartment setting, these have an incredible mid bass snap that is provided by the "passive radiator". Nice full sound without being harsh or muddy.
Nice job Logitech.
I would recommend these to anyone looking for great desktop speakers for use in office or apartment settings, they have great full range without being boomy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Art of AZ

Worst Speakers I bought

Date:2 January 2010
I bought the speakers for I could use them for my Xbox 360 because I play on a computer monitor, and the speakers had a really good rating from Dell and Logitech. I plugged every thing in, and right when I turned them on, I heard a popping sound and I had no clue if that was normal. The audio sounded good, but once the third day of use, the audio had became mono when the audio is supposed to be stereo. I has trying to playing videos games or watch movies but there was no voice and everything sounded off.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rick

Great Speakers At An affordable Price

Date:6 September 2009
The sales person told me for quality at an affordable cost these are the best speakers on the shelf. I thought this was lot of sales hype. I bought them and the sales person was right. I would say, however, the volume knob has a hard smooth surface and it does make it trying to turn the speakers off and on. To correct this slight defect, these knobs should be knurled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim the A/V Guy
from Monterey Peninsula, CA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Solid construction, decent sound

Date:29 August 2009
When I saw these online I figured they were about the same size as other inexpensive computer speakers, i.e. tiny. But when I saw them in the store they were substantially larger, a good 10 inches tall and 4 inches wide. I was also impressed with their solid construction. The cords are heavy, not flimsy, the knobs turn smoothly, but feel firm. These speakers feel like they're meant to last!
This set doesn't include a subwoofer, so they're not going to shake your floors, but the bass is clean and sufficiently robust to feel through my keyboard and mouse. Highs are fairly crisp. I can't quite put my finger on it, but some mid range frequencies are less clear, so while the overall sound quality is pretty decent, it is not perfect. But for the price, the quality is substantially better than the competition. Some tweaking of your computer's EQ settings, along with the speaker's built-in tone control will help you get the most out of them.
I'm also impressed with how well these speakers disperse sound evenly around the room. In a small bedroom I hear clear stereo separation from every part of the room.
If you use your computer as an entertainment center, these probably aren't for you. But if all you need is decent sound for routine computer use and some everyday background music, these are ideal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
btlaf

Did not even work with windows xp!

Date:3 August 2009
I did just about everything I could to get them working and they simply would not work with windows xp!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charbonneau

Good, For Cheap Speakers

Date:17 May 2009
These are very basic speakers.
They are very easy to use and for average tv show watching/movie watching/music listening they get the job done.
However, they have a very low sound quality that can only be helped by setting the tone modifier to the highest setting. After doing that you will realise that the bass is awesome but that the overall sound quality still isn't that great.
At $30 they provide a good set of speakers that provide a sort of stepping stone to different, better set of computer speakers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
auditech

better than factory

Date:29 April 2009
These speakers are better than factory ones but i dont think i'd buy them again if i had the choice. For 30 dollars they are good but for another 50 i can get alot better. I have logitech headphones which make these speakers sound like a joke. Their headphones make you feel like your in a movie theater, even their less expensive headphones are awesome. Buy the headphones over the speakers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BM

Great Buy

Date:25 March 2009
Very pleased with these speakers! They sound Great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JohnBoy

Had no idea

Date:26 February 2009
I purchased these speakers for my Secretary's PC as recommended by shop owner and looked quite classy.
She was well impressed with them and the sound quality is certainly suitable for her to listen to music and BBC iplayer programs and to talk to listen to customers when on Skype. Not mega performance speakers but well adequate for general use. I'm impressed enough that I shall be buying a set for my PC as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
irsissz
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very good sounding speakers

Date:24 February 2009
My laptop speakers aren't very loud and are too small therefore sound challenged. These speakers are great for a laptop. i was honestly surprised with the bass response in them. The tone knob does give you a range to work with. The cables seem to be well insulated and heavy cables so no noise or fuzz is noticed. Overall a good buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-140 Speakers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
White Knight
from California
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent desktop speakers

Date:16 February 2009
If all that you need is a pair of speakers to listen to music, then these are the speakers for you. They have a bass control knob, input 3.5mm jack for an mp3 player, headphone jack and volume control. What I've done is used 3M clear tape #4010 to secure the speakers to the inside end panels of my desk. That way the speakers don't clutter my desk space. The speakers have great sound output that isn't going to rock the walls and bother anyone in the other room. I'm satisfied with the great quality sound and build of these speakers and recommend them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.