Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Microphones Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for USB Desktop Microphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

USB Desktop Microphone

Pure digital audio from a desktop microphone you can use right out of the box.
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
30 out of 42(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for USB Desktop Microphone
Review 1 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordz0005
from Melbourne, Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Quality Microphone

Date:8 March 2012
When i first used this, it was amazing, the sound quality is great, and i know i'll be using this for years, and although most reviews say it has flimsy design, thats after continuous use for about 10 months to a year.
Overall, great product, will use for as long as possible
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Giana007
from California
Expertise: Proficient User

Great perfomance. Lowsy design.

Date:5 November 2010
I love the performance of this mic for the money, but the design is flimsy. I have to prop it up now because the neck won't stay up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ched

DOA

Date:2 November 2010
I ordered two of these online- both arrived DOA. The mics were broken off at the base. Beware of flimsy design.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJ
from Los Angeles, CA
Expertise: Proficient User

Piece of Cake

Date:25 October 2010
Opened the packeage, plugged right into the usb port, and was up in seconds. I connected to my ooVoo call immediately and had no problems. It took me longer to open the plastic packaging than it did to set up and test. Thank you Logitech!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rocketnater
from Georgia, USA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A very nice desktop microphone!

Date:2 October 2010
This is probably the best desktop microphone you can find. Voice chat is clear. What I like is the On/Off button and the pivoting weighted base. It is very easy to use and convient because this is plug-and-play which means you just plug the USB into your computer and it works right away, the drivers install by itself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yoyo

WARNING: it works even when it is turned off

Date:26 August 2010
I had this microphone for a long time and I loved it.
Until I was on Skype and my friend told me to get closer to my microphone, because he can't hear me well. Then I realized that my microphone was not even turned on! Once I turned it on, the volume was of course normal.
But this incident showed me that you can't trust this microphone. If you turn it off, the volume will lower, that's all.
I confirmed the problem with the Sound Recorder app.
It's unbelievable, but true! Please try it yourself and then help to spread the word!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shaun

Fantastic Mic

Date:10 August 2010
I've been using this microphone for roughly 4 years for my show on my online radio station. It's got great sound quality, easy to see if it's on or off, and has survived 5 moves intact. I've read a bad review or two, but they must have had defective units, mine has survived fantastically, and has great quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kathy

Logitech's USB desktop microphone is great

Date:25 June 2010
I need this microphone for voice recognition. I struggled for a few years using a couple of cheap headset microphones that were not USB. I found a world of difference with this microphone. Together with the voice recognition software in Windows 7, I have no problem at all. It's extremely easy and much more accurate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redwngsfan019

Awesome!

Date:17 June 2010
I've had this mic for years and still works perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marite
from Ohio ohio
Expertise: Newbie

Works fine

Date:14 June 2010
This worked really well. I had been struggling with a slightly more expensive mic that unfortunately recorded too softly, and when I tried to turn up the volume clipped me too much. But this mic worked like a dream. It was a huge relief, as I am not experienced with using recording equipment and needed something simple and good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pclover

cheap microphone

Date:13 June 2010
i got it at walmart cheap, but it did not work with vista or windows 7
audio quality was fine with windows 2000
it broke after 3 days of use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Palino

Worst purchase ever

Date:28 May 2010
This is supposed to be a noise canceling microphone. Now guess what - it doesn't cancel anyhing.
It's just a regular (altough quite sensitive) microphone in a nice package with mute button.
But the advertised "KEY" functionality is missing completely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bootsand
from Pennsylvania
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Incredible mic, only with the styling were updated

Date:5 April 2010
The first thing I'll mention is that this mic has *excellent* sound quality. I've just recently switched from gaming headsets to a pair of headphones and this mic and it has by far the clearest quality of them all the integrated microphones I've ever used.
To the reviewer that stated that the mic will only pick up your voice if you are speaking directly into it... you *have* to open the sound control panel and open the properties of the usb mic and raise the input to the appropriate level... honestly this mic is so sensitive I have to turn it WAY down and it will pick up whispers from 20 feet away if you set it to do so, there is no problem with the mic itself... poke around with the settings and you'll see. If I turn the input volume on max, the people on Skype or Vent can literally hear birds chirping out the window of a room across the apartment. No joke. It will pick up sound that even YOU cannot hear sitting near it. This is a good thing, you can adjust it to any level you want... uber sensitive if you want to Skype on your sofa across the room, or soft if you want to speak loudly and have them barely hear you, or anything in between.
The USB interface allows for the clear sound input, though it does tend to pick up background noise. I attribute this partially to not making the right adjustments via software and positioning, but also partially due to the mic... it's very sensitive because its just that well built. The thing is QUALITY through and through though.
My biggest gripe with it is the physical looks of it... if you don't mind the silver and black color scheme from the early 2000's when e-machines were not scorned, and green LED's were the norm, then you'll be fine. I'm a hardcore gamer and I style my entire desktop with the blue LED/black piano glossy black look, I own all high end blue/black schemed peripherals, and while the silver looks a little out of place, the green LED looks HORRIBLE with my setup. That's just me, though, I just wish they'd update the look of the thing once in a while, this is the same mic they've had on market for years.
In the end, though, there is a very good reason this mic has been sold for years, and it's simply the BEST mic you will get for <$100, and it will last for a LONG time. I know it's difficult to tell the difference between a lot of mics you've undoubtably been shopping around for but once you set this thing up, and adjust it, you'll understand that it really is that much better than the cheaper 3.5mm analog mics out there. If you're asking whether it's worth the little extra versus that el cheapo at the local electronics store, don't hesitate. Buy it, you can thank me later. Just make sure you adjust the mic in the control panel to get it just right... you should be able to place it anywhere remotely near you, try within 6 feet or so to start, and use it very comfortably.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeeJay
from I live in Sasolburg, South Africa.
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Does the job nicely

Date:26 March 2010
I was looking for a Mic to do voice over on my home videos, good quality and reasonable price. This microphone does the job. Little voice "Popping" if placed too close to mouth but easily overcome. Looks good on desk and not too intrusive. I like the light switch as it is a must for me and keeps me informed. I like the backward/forward pivot as it is sufficient for what I need. All round a good microphone for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oliver M
from Calgary, Alberta
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Reliable performance

Date:21 March 2010
Clear audio quality with plug in play feature. I'm fully satisfied with this microphone. Only weakness is just recently the joint where the microphone pivots forward and backward has gone slightly loose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBRAUN
from DC
Expertise: Proficient User

Not so Hot

Date:21 February 2010
I bought this because I was told the mike would be better quality than the mike in the web cam, but at the same distance as the web cam mike, this product does not pickup my voice at all. I really have no desire to video conference with a microphone that has to be right next to my mouth. It is now in a drawer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Techbuyer
from Reno, NV
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good ergonomics if it worked consistently

Date:16 February 2010
Mike power indicator turns off leaving one unsure if microphone is still active or not. The power indicator is supposed to remain on while the mike is active. I tried everything: different USB ports, checked for a new driver on logitech website, etc. no lucl. I have returned this microphone to the dealer, hoping it is simply a defective product. Too bad: the design is nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acerlover
from Levittown, PA
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent Product

Date:14 February 2010
I purchased this product a few days ago and have been using it since. Excellent quality (except from far distances, about 1.5feet or so is good) anyway, the on\off switch right there on the base is a great feature. I wish it would pivot left and right, but it does't. The hieght is about 5".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PcTechGirl

Best Mic Ever made

Date:30 January 2010
I use this mic for streaming, pod cast, Tutorials and more and I have to say it's to best microphone I have used I did used to use the blue snow ball microphone it was so big and it came with a shout cord didn't like that at all this comes with a 8ft cord and it's usb I use this on my PS3 too and it works great great job Logitech
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for USB Desktop Microphone
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WestEndWannabe

great mic!

Date:13 January 2010
It Can pick up all ranges of your singing voice! =]
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>