Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Joysticks Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Extreme™ 3D Pro

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Extreme™ 3D Pro

From acrobatic dogfights to long-range strikes, this precise joystick gives you the edge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 out of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Review 1 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kts350
from sydney
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome joystick

Date:11 December 2011
I bought an Extreme 3D Pro joystick not long ago to replace my old 3D pro it's an awesome joystick I use it mainly for flightsiming and it's perfect. It's fits perfectly into my hand the buttons are easy to use and reach without having to take my eyes off the screen.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joshyvor
Expertise: Proficient User

Good value and performance

Date:21 November 2012
I've had mine for years now and its been great although after 4 years it has definitely started to deteriorate which is unfortunate. however 4 years is well over what i expected to get out of it and apart from that its great. I wouldn't recommend it for a serious simmer because the throttle controls are a bit dull and the layout is very different to a real aircraft
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gamer
from Maryborough, Australia and proud of it
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Most Essential purchase in the world

Date:19 November 2012
WOW this joystick really is the best.
i bought it when i got my flight sim and have never looked back.
It is essential in todays world of games if you want to survive or just to cruise the sky lines of space and peruse the ground far below or to buzz wild animals on the plains of Africa.
nothing better than to grab that stick, and fly:)!!!
U guys at LOGITECH ROCK
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
congo
from Brisbane
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great joystick - quality issues

Date:16 November 2012
Why do I buy these sticks? Because they work great out of the box and have excellent functionality and ergonomics.
I've probably bought more of these joysticks than any other private individual. I have to replace them 3 or 4 times a year now because they quickly develop axis problems and become unusable in a realistic flight sim environment.
These sticks should last a lifetime, but they are becoming worse and worse as the years roll by, simply because of the cheap and nasty axis sensors/pots or whatever they are made of.
I would gladly pay a little more if you would PLEASE improve the axis pots/sensors used in these sticks.
I have about ten of these faulty sticks in storage now, just purchased another one out of desperation, but it will be my last unless I see a press release about improved quality.
I'm your best joystick customer Logitech, but that's about to end unless you guys get your act together and fix this problem.
congo
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Draco
from Brisbane, Qld
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Easy stick to install and use.

Date:6 May 2012
I just bought this stick for use with a couple of Flightsims.
Straight out of the box, this stick was the kind of good quality I have come to expect from Logitech. I have owned and do own several pieces of PC equipment from Logitech, from speakers, to keyboards and mice and I have to admit, I am a bit of a Logitech fan anyway.
But, this stick just confirmed it for me again.
It installed with no fuss. The very epitome of plug and play. The games I chose to play were older games, but the stick self configured to each game with no problems at all. I didn't have to give the stick a second thought, just soared off into the virtual wild blue yonder!
Only a couple of minor issues. The buttons, especially on the base are not clearly marked and as I banked, my hand tended to slip backwards and cause the nose of my aircraft to tip upwards a bit. Not so bad for a jet sim, but a WWII sim has older planes without as much power.
These two issues are why I had to mark down a few of the ratings to 4 stars.
However, the price and the quality far outshine small things like this and I am entirely happy with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wolfman
from NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

very nice

Date:13 March 2012
this joy stick bought over a year ago and i can't fault it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crooky2011
from Perth,WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awesome

Date:24 July 2011
Handles verry well though progaming of buttons is verry poor and does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia24 July 2011
Hi, sounds like there could be an issue with the Joystick or perhaps the set up of it. Just head to logitech.com and click the Support button at the top of the screen to get some assistance to get those buttons working the way you like.
Review 8 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wolfy
from Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A Descenter's Weapon of Choice

Date:16 June 2011
Now I've tried this for various flight simulations (regular and combat alike), but there is one game this stick rocks - Descent and Descent 2 using the DXX Rebirth engines. Now the original ports do not allow you to program the stick as you see fit let alone take full advantage of it, however DXX Rebirth will allow you to exactly that as it recognises every axis and button. Having played around with different setups, the most efficient setup that allowed me to do everything off the Extreme 3D PRO alone proved to be quite an aggressive playing style! Using the horizontal axis to Bank (roll), turn using the twist-action along with setting the hat switch as my slide control allowed me (use all degrees of control in combination together) to whip around and blast away hostile targets. I've to test this in the multiplayer arena, but in single player the Extreme 3D PRO is an awesome joystick for playing Classic Descent!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
X8235
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Purchase

Date:6 June 2011
My freinds liked it so much Two of them got the same one!
Great all round joystick very responsive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jalfor
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Joystick

Date:20 April 2011
Very, Very comfortable. Fits in my hand REALLY well. Performance and quality I have had no issues with and I have had it for several months and it hasn't missed a beat. Two things I could suggest is to have the top thumb buttons a tiny bit lower because I have to lift my hand (not very much) off the resting thing, and perhaps the 8-way thumb thing on the top could have something you could do to decrease sensitivity as sometimes when I am playing it goes a little too far. This is a minor issue though.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Technogirl
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very Nice so Far--Just bought HAVE IDEAS FOR ADJST

Date:25 October 2010
I just bought this product and if you set the "dead zone" to like, 10 percent or so, then you won't have the twisting problems. Just edit the axis for each of the axis things.
To some degree, you can correct for things. Using the dead zone, you can keep a neutral position when you intend to. Also, you can program each button to any key using the "assign command" function.
"assign keystroke" does NOT work for some reason, don't bother with it. otherwise, great program thus far.
With the throttle, if you wish to use it as an extra button, just set it "throttle on-nothing" "throttle off-your choice". That way you don't have this weird glitching thing if you bind it to a command key.... haha. Then u just switch it on and off to activate that spell/ability.
works great for WOW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mag7898

Great for everone

Date:12 October 2010
I purchased the controler and had brought it for Microsoft Flight Simulator FSX. It works great I recently purchase the H.A.W.X game and wow this controler is the best . I have the Saitek 52 and the xbox controlers , they are hard to use and more complicated when playing the game. SO the Logitech Extreme 3D Pro is the best. I have not had any of the problems that others have had. I think the best answer to those folks would be did you use the disk to program your computer and then did you sit it up like it recomends I cant figure out what went wrong with yours. Thanks Mark
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jdr2000

Good joystick...love the programmability

Date:29 September 2010
I just got this joystick, largely to play some old Windows/DOS games on my PC, though DosBox. I was used to the CH Flightstick, but I needed a new USB-based stick.
This fit perfectly. The feel is good, plenty of buttons, and good response in X/Y/twist. Minor gripes: The 5/6 buttons are a little hard to reach; The hat could be a little lower and larger; would like one more button on the shaft of the stick for secondary firing.
But the best element is the programmability. Not just any button to any key, but the "zone" feature. This works great for mapping both slow/fast strafe control to the twist, for example.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2pt

extreme 3d pro won't fly in Bad company 2

Date:27 June 2010
So happily unwrapped the new joy stick and did an install. But will it fly in Bad Company 2? Throttle is not recognized or at least nothing hapens when used in the game or even after I set W and S for it. Twist is 180 out.
And the Freedom 2.4 did such a good job in BF2...
Now I know why the joystick is not shown in the list of stuff that works so well with BC2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gremlin
from Atlanta, GA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

EXTREME 3D PRO ROCKS

Date:4 June 2010
While I can see why some gamers would have issues with this product, in the flight simulator arena it's definitely in the top 10. Clearly it is intended as a flight control joystick and works perfectly in games such as Aces High ll as well as Microsoft Flight Simulator (3 to date).
If quality at a economical price is what you're looking for, the Logitech Extreme 3D Pro is what you need!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chauncy44

Junk

Date:7 May 2010
Don't use with FS 2004+. This piece of junk will not callibrate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone

Good Buy

Date:7 April 2010
This is a good joystick. When I fly in GTA San Andreas, I find that the twist handle does not respond however the tophat is effectively a joystick on a joystick. The top hat is more uncontrollable but more responsive. I also find that my hand naturally causes the twist handle to twist as I turn the aircraft which is nice because it combines bank and yaw just as if you were flying a real plane, despite the fact that the twist does respond for that game (I just noticed that my hand does that, so I'm commenting that it is good if I were able to actualy apply it). I've only had it for less than a month but it seems like a really good buy already. I made a Logitech Attack 3 (which everyone complains about) last for at least 3 years so I'm hoping to get much more life out of this joystick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SpeedyCerviche
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good stick, if you can forget the twist problem

Date:25 March 2010
My Extreme 3D Pro has the twist issue like the other reviewers. It completely prevents me from playing IL-2, Battlefield 2, and any other game that may use the twist function. I would not recommend this joystick to anyone. I found out the hard way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
werepossum
from Chattanooga, TN
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good stick, needs a bit of work on quality

Date:23 March 2010
This is my fifth Extreme 3D Pro; obviously I find them better overall than the competition. The fit and feel of the stick is excellent. I use it mainly for shooters (using a trackball for a mouse) so I'm not the average bear. The first lasted about eight months, the second was mostly DOA and was immediately returned, and the third lasted perhaps six or eight months. The fourth I bought from Best Buy with the two year extended warranty, so of course it lasted just over two years! The metal strip activating the trigger cherry switch finally bent down from use; the stick would no longer fire reliably or quickly. I disassembled it and bent the strip back in place, which got me another month or so, but as the trigger problem was worsening and it usually took six or seven tries plus a big dead zone to get usable calibration I broke down and replaced it.
Pros: Excellent feel, ergonomics and performance.
Generally good software. The global setting makes most non-joystick games (such as shooters) playable with the joystick and trackball.
Cons: Loses its calibration (sometimes requiring multiple unplugs and replugs to get a usable signal).
No trims for pots to overcome above.
No pinkie button (I miss it from the old MadCatz Panther XL.)
Software is not so great; need an easy way to start a new profile from an existing profile, as many of the commands are the same or similar and thus this would be a great time saver.
Other thoughts: Overall I think a good buy. I've not yet found a stick I liked better overall - the Panther XL felt better and had a pinkie button, but was discontinued and had no twist so not worth modding with modern parts. Competing brands don't feel as comfortable to me, so as long as I can get eight months or more out of them I'll stick with this stick and be a happy camper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Extreme™ 3D Pro
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adam
from St. Louis, MO
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great But....

Date:12 March 2010
The joystick was really great but if you twist the joystick in a overly "turn" manner it will gradually start turning bit by bit to that side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>