Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Keyboard + Mice Combos Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution

The speed you need. The control you crave.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 70 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
5
49 out of 70(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Review 1 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Prune
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Very Good

Date:5 September 2013
I like this combo and would definitely buy it again.
Have not had any of the problems others have complained about.
Only 2 concerns.
1) Writing is coming off keys and
2) One of the feet broke off, they are far too flimsy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mike2013
from Perth WA, Australia
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Excellent

Date:28 July 2013
I have had the MX5500 combo since it was first released in 2008 and have not had any issues, it has been used with Windows Vista, 7 and now 8 without any issues. There is a lot of key travel which not everyone will like but I certainly do. I like having the media controls on the left hand side of the keyboard instead of at the top and I also really like having the calculator built in. The shape of the mouse felt very unusual when I first purchased it but I absolutely love it now. It is only now that I am considering replacing with a new MX5500 as the mouse is starting to lag every now and again. Not a major concern to me as I consider 5 years out of a keyboard and mouse to be an excellent lifespan.
Criticisms.
The LCD screen needs to be backlit, whilst not a major issue it would certainly be a nice addition. The palm rest on the keyboard could afford to be a bit bigger and slighlty softer for people that are typing for long periods of time. It would also be nice to see the legs made a bit stronger as they snapped off within about 12 months.
Overall I absolutely love this keyboard and mouse and would highly recommend it to anyone. My only comment to Logitech would be how about an updated version taking into account the large amount of feedback from consumers. It would be nice to have an updated Bluetooth connection and some additional features.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cain
from Melbourne
Expertise: Tech Savvy

lagggggggggggggg

Date:20 November 2012
although the mouse is comertable and has a free spinning mouse wheel, thats where its good points end. i find myself having to turn it off and on regularly due to a stuck axis or a suck button.
the keyboard is ok but after about 2 years its on its way out, the buttons are starting to stick and feel very mushy. or take anywhere upto 5 seconds to register after the press.
i would have liked to seen more customization on the extra buttons (not that i really use them much) and another 3 digits on the key stroke counter so it has a real use.
i do love the inbuilt calculator and i find this is the most used feature on the board i use (along with the clock and power button)
was it worth the price tag? no not really
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dsky
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Do not buy. Ever.

Date:1 November 2012
Great product in the beginning but the mouse will begin to lag so much, that web browsing becomes difficult. Also if you unplug the receiver and then plug it in again, the keyboard doesn't work. The only way to fix this is to uninstall the driver for the keyboard before replugging the receiver back in. After a few months of use, problems begin to appear. All these problems just makes the product pretty much unusable.
This product could've have been great but its riddled with problems. For $150 I expected much more.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gypsyfreek

most impressed

Date:28 August 2012
had this product for 6 months and have had zero problems with it. In fact it has out-performed my expectations. First purchased for my laptop , I quickly began using it on my desktop as the bluetooth connection is as good ( in my opinion ) as a wired connection and far out paces standard wireless. I am yet to change the keyboard batteries and the mouse tends to last up to a week before needing recharging. And i use this everyday for study, gaming and general computing.
Keys do tend to feel a little bit budget but work well. The mouse feels good in my hand ( and i have reasonably large hands).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jordana
from Perth
Expertise: Proficient User

Worst Product Ever Purchased

Date:24 July 2012
A warning to all potential buyers, do not Buy this product a MX5500, you will be sorry and very disappointed. I had it less than 12 months, replacement, now the customer service refusing to respond to emails or assist with a immediate replacement. The customers service has deteriorate in the last 12 months. Logitech do not care, I am using a friends keyboard and mouse for the time being. I have sent so many emails and no response, and will need to report Logitech to Australian Government Consumer Agency. The product is overpriced rubbish and when there is problem they do want to know you.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaMarketing2 August 2012
Hi Jordana, please forward your client ID to ausmarketing@logitech.com with a brief description of the issue and correspondence with customer support.
Review 7 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jackson

MX 5500

Date:8 April 2012
Great Keyboard + Mice combo, especially for the price. The mouse is great, so many buttons that can be changed to whatever you like for it to do. I LOVE the calculator button on the keyboard, so so handy just when a quick sum is necessary. Also the media buttons are brilliant.
PROS
Mouse has heaps of programmable buttons
Mouse is very ergonomic
Keyboard has so many features.
Have never had a problem with keys jamming and have done over 2 million presses
Mouse wheel can free spin, which is actually quite handy.
CONS
Keyboard wrist rest is not the greatest
Was a pain to get installed at start
Would be great if the LCD screen was back lit
Once my computer goes to sleep, the mouse and keyboard have to be reconnected
Overall great product and would HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking for a great combo.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia10 April 2012
Hey Jackson, thanks for your review. Buzz our Support Team on 1800 025 544 to get help with the connection - it should remain connected to your PC when it goes to sleep
Review 8 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seann M
from NSW Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Could be improved

Date:8 March 2012
I am now on my second set of this combo. I bought the package early last year and it was fantastic for the the first 6 months, until the mouse battery died.... I took it back to the shop where it was purchased and they replaced the set. Once again for the next 7 months it was working perfectly, until now. The mouse battery is once again on the way out. It might last a day between charges and it gives no warning when it is about to go flat. For some reason the keyboard is also having connectivity issues. Even after replacing the batteries it will drop out for about 5 seconds at random intervals.
When they are working it has been the best mouse/keyboard package I've ever had. The reliability has been shocking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia13 March 2012
Hi Seann M that sounds really odd, can you please call our Support Team on 1800 025 544 and they can assist troubleshoot as these issues seem quite odd.
Review 9 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damo

Great Mouse

Date:30 January 2012
Was never interested in the keyboard but the mouse is excellent. The number of buttons is great. On occasion it hasnt interfaced properly with the computer, but that was the computers fault. I once accidently dropped it down 3 stories and it still works fine. I like making the side mousewheel do cut, copy and paste instead of document scrolling
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Godles

Mostly happy

Date:7 December 2011
I loved this set up and never had an issue until I started using it at work.
the software clashes with outlook and takes reading 10 emails from a 5 minute job to a 60 min job. I re install the software every day light savings so that my time is correct again.
I stopped using it at home because one of the keyboard legs broke, I sent an email and found out that logitech are unable to replace them even though I was willing to pay for it, i'm not forking out the cost of a whole set just so I can use it again comfortably.
the screen on the keyboard is awesome though, i often leave it on the time but the calculator is just amazing it really does help me get the numbers i need to work out done a lot quicker. its good for finding out the name of the song currently playing as well.
if only the software would work without disrupting my work i'm sure i could get more out of the options available.
the mouse, because of the software is limited as well but still by far the best mouse i've owned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia12 December 2011
Hi Godles, thanks for your feedback. Can you email your Case ID Reference number you were given from our Support Team so we can look into this further for you please? Regarding the Software, please go to logitech.com and click the Support button to ensure you have the latest version installed on your computer.
Review 11 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ianthomo
from Sydney NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great but troublesome

Date:29 August 2011
Good products but the mouse frequently looses communication so I have to have a wired mouse available at all times. I require the freedom of wireless so I put up with it. Fix this and the product will be great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By LogitechLogitech Australia30 August 2011
Hi there, The wireless mouse should work seamlessly and not lose communication. All our products are covered with a full replacement warranty. Please contact our support team who will assist with checking your product.They are contactable via email or phone. The details are on this link: http://www.logitech.com/en-au/contact
Review 12 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitch
from Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Keyboard and mouse combo.

Date:15 July 2011
Only reason i have this keyboard and mouse combo is because my S520 broke and logitech replaced it with this.
So far im loving the mouse, and all the buttons on it make web browsing and photoshop editing much faster.
The ability to change the buttons for different applciations is awesome also.
Although the mouse is maeant to sit in your hand properly, i feel its a little short in height for my liking. my hand drags on the desk a bit. But its not worrying me all the much.
The keyboard is another story.
The screen is useless, pretty much pointless information in my opinion. If you have little or no light you cant see it. so daytime its good but there should be a backlight that can be activated at night time or when you press a jump button like volume up or volume down etc. or if you press the buttons underneath the lcd.
Honest to god, i have never used the gadgets button, the media center button or photo gallery button yet.
I like the inbuilt calculator you can use on the keyboard itself.
Saves having a calculator on the desk :)
FN keys make it easy and quick to access frequently used applications but i hardly use them anyway but they are good to have.
I feel the keys have a bit too much travel for my liking. and they are not flush so i find myself about to send an email with missing letters in words.
The thickness is a bit of an issue also. my S520 keyboard fit under the glass in my desk but this one my fingers are hitting the top because its too thick.
Overall i see logitech have tried to design something
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kamikaze
from Perth
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Cheap junk

Date:30 June 2011
This has to be the worst keyboard and mouse combo I've ever owned. I've had previous logitech keyboards and mice and they were average - good. This one I bought thinking it would be the best because it claims to be logitech's top combo. Its by far the worst. Firstly, the mouse; it randomly dies or just stops moving on screen and has to be reset, the 2 main buttons get jammed and have to be wedged out, the side scroll is non responsive to most programs- just won't do anything, and if the mouse hasn't moved for a couple hours the lag for it to start moving again can be up to 30 seconds.
The keyboard is worse; same lag but can go as long as a minute, the media buttons happen to have a separate lag of there own and even if the rest of the keyboard is not lagging the media keys will either not work or consistently lag -play,forward,back -won't work, volume up/down ALWAYS have massive lag,its just a waste of time using them. The little screen at the top of the keyboard is useless, you can only see it if your main room light is on. the features of the screen are useless and are only compatible with windows media & inbox. I use this combo in front of my screen about 60cm away from the box, they say this was designed to work up to 30 meters -thats a straight lie. It doesn't. And on top of that, the distance I have it, still causes alot of lag..alot of lag. Terrible, Terrible keyboard mouse combo Logitech, lift your game and release something that actually works
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia30 June 2011
Hi, thanks so much for providing us your feedback and taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it. This information is fed back to our Support and Product Teams to help us improve our products or services.

It seems though with a couple of adjustments in the settings for this product we may be able to improve the situation for you. Or that it may be a faulty unit.

Just in case you weren't aware we have a 1800 025 544 support line that can help you, troubleshoot or assist with set ups. We'd love the opportunity to get you up and running the way you'd like it to.
Review 14 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Avid Gamer
from Gympie, QLD
Expertise: Proficient User

Overpriced

Date:15 June 2011
Mouse constantly drops signal. Keyboard legs broke within 2 weeks. No numberlock on keyboard. In my opinion overpriced for what you get.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia15 June 2011
Hi, we are sorry to hear you have been having difficulties. All our products purchased in Australia from Authorised Resellers & Retailers come with a Replacement Warranty so if you go to logitech.com, click the Support button our team will be able to help you out in no time.
Review 15 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MK
from TASMANIA
Expertise: Proficient User

ALMOST GREAT

Date:20 April 2011
MOUSE LEFT BUTTON HAS STOPPED WORKING JUST OUT OF WARRANTY - MOUSE NOW USELESS. WHILE IT WORKED, IT WAS GREAT.
KEYBOARD ESCAPE KEY TOO SMALL - NEEDS TO BE MUCH BIGGER. IT'S AN IMPORTANT KEY WHEN DRAFTING & IT'S NOT EASY TO GET TO - KEEP GETTING THE F1 'HELP' KEY INSTEAD.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By LogitechLogitech20 April 2011
Hi MK, sorry to hear that, please send an email to generalaus@logitech.com about your mouse, they may be able to help you out.
Response from Logitech:By LogitechLogitech20 April 2011
Hi MK, sorry to hear that, please send an email to generalaus@logitech.com about your mouse, they may be able to help you out.
Review 16 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rob
from Port Macquarie
Expertise: Proficient User

5500 disapointment

Date:14 April 2011
I migrated from the MX3100 to MX 5500. A mistake; the 3100 was the best logitech combo I have owned. I wish I could get another one. The 5500 mouse decides to drop out every now & again & must be switced off & then reswitched back on to be able to continue. The double click function is far yoo sensitive even after several attempts to alter the speed. Bring back my 3100!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
will
Expertise: Proficient User

great keyboard and mouse

Date:5 February 2011
This keyboard and mouse are great they are easy to use and have many useful features. I believe this is the best mouse and keyboard going around. Features I like consist of
• Bluetooth – this enables you to connect directly to a Bluetooth enabled computer without the need for the usb receiver provided
• Hyper scrolling which is easily turned on and off by clicking the scroll button
• A search button which instantly open your desired web browser
• Super-fast reachable mouse
• The key board contains features such as
• An lcd display with date and time connected to your computer so the same info is displayed on your computer
• Instant calculator that is only for the keyboard
• And many other quick links
Both the keyboard and the mouse are easy to use connect and personalise to do what you want with them. I would recommend this to anyone because I believe this is the best keyboard going around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gremlin
Expertise: Proficient User

Best Product

Date:17 December 2010
I Think it is the best product logitech has bought out so far, its quick to type on, great mouse and hyper scrolling, even slideshow effects on the side wheel.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sgt.Bungers
from Canberra, Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent Product

Date:23 October 2010
I have purchased a few of these products. They are excellent. The keyboard is quiet and feels great. The LCD screen containing a key counter and room temp amongst other goodies are great little geek gadgets. One huge downfall for me of this product however is the general lack of support Logitech has for Linux. No Setpoint drivers!?!? Come on! If you'd like to customise your mouse/keyboard settings for a Linux box, you first have to plug the blue tooth receiver into a Windows machine with Setpoint installed, customise the settings there, then plug the receiver back into your Linux machine. After that it works, but it is an unnecessary and copious process that I'm sure Logitech will remedy shortly, simply by providing Setpoint drivers for Linux :-)
Other than that little rant, overall, the MX5500 is the best wireless keyboard/mouse combination I've used in my career and highly recommend the kit to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cordless Desktop MX 5500 Revolution
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dhoyt7141

Great Product!

Date:3 October 2010
Awesome keyboard and mouse products! I was worried about it being wireless and not being too great performance-wise as a result, but I like it much better than my old wired setup, it is fantastic!
The old style had a different left-side scroll bar, but it looks like logitech mended their ways and got a much better design, awesome job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>