Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Mice Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Corded Mouse M500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Corded Mouse M500

A corded mouse with hyper-fast scrolling for increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
19 out of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Corded Mouse M500
Review 1 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
azza
Expertise: Newbie

fast mouse

Date:31 August 2012
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
this mouse has quick scrooling best mouse
i enjoy the miuse
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wallaby
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Logitech M500 Mouse LPT11894

Date:1 May 2012
Pros:
Plug and Play (download of software to tweak available)
Comfortable
cons:
Could be uncomfortable for left-handed users
No DPI setting on the mouse
Review:
The Logitech M500 mouse is a wired desktop mouse sporting hyper scrolling, back and forward buttons and laser point precision. The mouse does not require any software installation to take advantage of the features this mouse offers.
My first thought when opening the box to this mouse is wow it looks a lot like Logitech's (at time of writing) current top of the line mouse the M950 except it's not wireless. Upon further observation the M500 provides many of the features I have come to love from Logitech. In particular the Hyper-Scroll feature which allows you to scroll though many pages of long documents at the blink on an eye. Of course the Hyper-Scroll feature is not for everyone but Logitech has you covered with a nifty button to swap between your standard scroll and the ball bearing aided speed that is hyper-scroll. The mouse cable was of ample length to reach the back of my computer.
Plugging the mouse into the computer I found that plug and play worked for the M500 I didn't need to install any software to allow me to take advantage of the back and forward buttons and I was greeted with a very responsive cursor thanks to the laser powered M500. I found software available for download from Logitech's support page to adjust the settings of the mouse if I so desired.
Overall I am extremely happy with the Logitech M500. It Has some of my favourite features you can find in a mouse and a simple price tag. This mouse is a great upgrade from a Microsoft mouse or uncomfortable blob that many mice are.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ambanmba
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Peeling due to cheap materials, otherwise good

Date:27 March 2011
Good performance as a mouse, but poor construction means that the side has started peeling after about a year of use. This now went from a comfortable ergonomic mouse to an annoying thing that leaves rubber bits on my thumb every time I use it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia31 March 2011
Hi ambanmba, please contact our office in Australia via generalaus@logitech.com so that we can help you out with the mouse. All our products have a replacement warranty so we should be able to get something sorted for you because it sounds like a strange problem to have.
Review 4 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
angoori_220
from VA
Expertise: Proficient User

A big, noisy mouse, but cool when settings edited.

Date:30 October 2010
As I got it, it looked pretty big to me. When I click or use middle click, it is noisy; the middle click is a little bit firm to push, and the scrolling wheel is pretty much noisy too. But after I activated the Hyper-fast scrolling, which was my favorite feature, the noise was gone, and I think I leave it this way.Overall, I did not like the ergonomic design and its size; however, it has some good features such as side keys, which I could change their job by installing the software, and Hyper-fast scrolling.If you bought it, I recommend to download the software to make the necessary changes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frank
Expertise: Tech Savvy

the best mouse I've owned in 25 years

Date:1 October 2010
I've been buying mice for my PCs since Windows 2.0, and this is my favorite mouse.
Thanks for a great product.
This is the only mouse I've ever proactively recommended to others.
The wheel is awesome. I never used the wheels on my mice until this one.
The downside of buying this product is that it is hard to go back and use the standard mice that ship with Dell computers. I'm now upgrading all of my mice: home and work.
This is the first time that I purchased a mouse and actually felt it made a difference in my productivity and how much I enjoy working with computers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unsung
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Exceptional Mouse Overall

Date:28 September 2010
I was looking for a corded mouse a while ago, and bought the LX3, which is very uncomfortable and not accurate enough for my needs (which includes graphic design and video editing, very precise work). The optical sensor just didn't cut it at all. I had to get a new mouse after a few months, so at least a year ago I got this one.
The M500 is superbly accurate with almost no jitter, almost as accurate as a ball mouse yet smoother. It is also much more comfortable. After months and months of use, the mouse is still working perfectly. The scroll wheel; yet somewhat noisy and cheap; and horizontal scrolling proved priceless and the programmable forward/back buttons are very useful for gaming, giving this mouse more potential. But that is also one of its two problems: I used to accidentally hit the forward/back buttons often when I got this mouse, but I got used to their positioning over time. The second (and only other) con is the lack of a PS/2 connector as I'm running short on USB ports, but not a big problem.
Overall, it's great and absolutely recommended to anybody who is looking for a corded mouse at this price range.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
96gt
from Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Solid Product

Date:25 September 2010
Excellent mouse. I've been using Logitech products for years and am very pleased with the performance of this mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ljerryd
from Dallas
Expertise: Tech Savvy

M500 - Not so sure anymore

Date:27 August 2010
Originally, I bought the Anywhere MX, which I still think is outstanding. So, for the office, I bought the M500, which has many of the same features in a corded interface. Still love the free-wheeling scroll wheel, but, after a few months, the mouse sensitivity has seriously declined. Now, if I don't have it on a specific mouse pad, it doesn't track. Maybe I just website challenged, but I have yet to find the place on the Logitech website where I can get warranty assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apikoros
from Atlanta, GA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good for Everything Else

Date:26 August 2010
I bought this mouse in a pinch to replace a G5 with a loose wire, not really understanding the "Fast Scroll" advertised on the box, but liking Logitech and the price.
I am very impressed with the fast scroll feature. At first I thought it was a gimmick easily replaceable by just turning up the lines scrolled per tick on a regular mouse, but the combination of precision and speed can't be achieved like that. It is essentially a toggle button that changes the wheel from a free-spinning mode (it will spin for at least 10 seconds with a good twirl) to a more conventional gentle lock on each tick. With a little practice you can set it to scrolling at your scanning speed and quickly get to the meat of an article (or find where you left off a forum thread, or many similar instances), and when you really do need a line-by-line scroll you can easily switch back. The physical sensation of flicking the wheel adds something else, making the experience very intuitive and somehow satisfying. The wheel is also the best (much better than the G5 even) I've used: it never accidentally spins when I try to click, or clicks when I try to spin, and is even usable for side scrolling.
My only complaint is that during very fast motions the mouse can't keep up and sometimes turns unpredictably or stands still. I can't remember ever experiencing this except when trying to flick quickly around in a video game; for casual desktop use this is my favorite mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
matt
from Kansas City, KS
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A welcomed upgrade from my last mouse!

Date:17 August 2010
I just upgraded from a much older Logitech mouse which was getting pretty old, and I am VERY happy with this mouse.
The grip is extremely comfortable and similar to my old Logitech mouse which makes me really happy.
The second this that popped out was how the scroll wheel can be set to spin freely, making long webpages no problem!
I just use a mouse at my desk, so having a cord is no problem - it provides better performance than cordless ones, and has no batteries to worry about!
The buttons included on the mouse are really useful and I think they're well placed, and the optional software for the mouse makes it super easy to set the buttons to do tons of different things.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raygungirl

Really solid mouse

Date:16 August 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this with my iMac, but have used it with Windows, and it works nicely. I just plugged it in on both my Mac and a PC and it worked fine on both.
The two thumb buttons have different default functions on Windows and OS X. On Windows, they're back and forward webpage browsing buttons. On OS X, the "browser-back" button works Expose, and the "browser-forward" button doesn't seem to do anything. I like it fine that way, so I don't feel the need to mess with the settings.
I have pretty large hands for a girl (8 inches from palm to middle finger), but I found that a lot of mice I tried out at the store were still too big for my hand to fit comfortably over them. This Logitech was the only one that seemed to be made for a hand my size.
I mainly use my mouse for internet use, World of Warcraft and Photoshop, and it's worked fine for all those things.
The scroll-wheel is able to scroll horizontally, which was a selling point for me after I got spoiled by Apple's scroll-ball. It seems to work a little weird in at least one program - if you try to lower/raise the volume in iTunes, the volume bar seems to go "backwards" from the way you click the horizontal scroll-wheel. Other than that, it works fine, and that's Apple's problem, NOT Logitech's.
Someone else on this site expressed confusion over the button under the scroll-wheel. I figured it out! The button toggles smooth scrolling and "clicky" scrolling. If it's smooth, you can scroll once quickly and the page will keep scrolling. If it's "clicky," it'll only go a little way and you'll have to scroll again. I prefer the "clicky" scroll-wheel, but you that's just my preference.
All in all, a great mouse. It even works on frosted glass! I was really surprised. I've included a picture of the mouse on the frosted glass of my desk, and my hand on the mouse so you can see the proportional size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Retoocs
from Cape Elizabeth, ME
Expertise: Tech Savvy

THe weak spot

Date:18 May 2010
I have to say that I really liked this mouse until one of the glide pads caught on the edge of my mouse pad and just folded in half. Is this a weak spot in the design? YES!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nat
from Canada, Ontario
Expertise: Newbie

Love it.

Date:11 May 2010
I haven't had this mouse for very long, but I had the version before it. This mouse is fantastic for internet browsing, I love the hyper-fast scrolling. I personally use this mouse for gaming, I know its not what it is intended to do, but I'm too cheap to spend over $100 on a gaming mouse. I'd definitely recommend this mouse to cheap gamers, and people that just want to browse the net. This mouse is extremely comfortable, and I would definitely recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nestor
from Chicago, IL
Expertise: Proficient User

An agreeable mouse with style

Date:4 May 2010
An agreeable mouse with style and an above-average feature set. Recommended.
I started out looking for more design quality and hand-to-mouse comfort than was offered by the stock equipment in my desktop PC package. I also wanted a product that I hoped would stand up better under light use than did the Microsoft Optical mouse I had been using.
After looking at Microsoft, Logitech, and a few other brands, I selected the Logitech M500 because of its interesting design, shape, and style accents, and its comfortable fit. (For me, the fit was better than that of the also attractive Logitech LX3, which appears to be slightly shorter in overall length.) The price was right, too, because cheaper products had left me unimpressed.
I soon came to appreciate the additional features of the M500 along with its style: the built-in backward/forward buttons are useful for Web browsing and for navigating the Windows Explorer address bar. (Though these buttons can easily be activated when you don't intend to.) I didn't expect to have much use for hyper-fast scrolling but found that it also comes in handy: when a page or document gets long, why not hyper-scroll?
Left and right scroll with the optional Logitech SetPoint software can also be useful, but I haven't used it often. SetPoint offers a number of other customization options, but for now the basics are fine. The "help" descriptions in SetPoint do an above-average job of explaining the options and what the settings can actually do. I was, however, unable to get SetPoint to re-program the backward/forward buttons to operate the previous/next buttons in Microsoft Live Mail.
A couple of other points: the M500's laser tracking seems very "smooth" and exact. I notice when I use the scroll wheel to click on a web link, it requires solid pressure at just the right spot on the wheel, otherwise the wheel tends to roll forward and move the pointer off the link before activating it.
I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Logitech still cares about mice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cody
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Date:3 April 2010
I dont see why people complain about it as much. Its great smooth mouse. Not sure what the button udner scrolling wheel is but thats okay. Scrolling wheel is amazing and great feeling. The mouse fits very nice in your hand and has great back and foward buttons on the side which are very handy once you get use to them being there.
I would reccomend for anyone that is doing normal computer things. Maybe not for gaming but a great mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JC
from FL
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great for the price

Date:2 April 2010
It feels great on your hand, all the buttons in the right places and that hyper scroll saves a lot of scrolling. The clicking could be a bit more quiet though. For the price, it's worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack
from Europe
Expertise: Tech Savvy

poor mouse!

Date:19 March 2010
Well first the pros:
-its nice right handed mouse,
-feet quite nice in the hand,
-have nice light scroll,
and now the const:
- very bad for the gamers! has very low polling rate THAT CANT BE CHANGED!!!! its like mouse for 5$ are better than this one :/
- loud clicks
- drivers aren't supplied with the mouse
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Xeno
from Australia
Expertise: Proficient User

Decent but have a few problems...

Date:23 February 2010
The mouse first of all is not a bad mouse. Sensitivity is ok, the boutons are well working on Window 7 as it should. It is true that we need to download the Setpoint software to customise the buttons. And what is bad about it, it is that it did NOT came with the mouse. So people who are buying it are expected to download the software from the Logitech official website.
However, the problem is that some buttons do not respond well in games. I tried to make shorcuts to keys using the mouse and it did not respond to well. I am not sure whether it is only me. But I currently have the problem to press several time on that buttont to perform the action I need in game.
In anyhow, this is not a bad mouse to use in office. The scroll system is well integrated (although we have to click the button in the middle to swap mode). It is also a shame that it does not have DPI switcher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Barbs

PS/2 Connector not allowed

Date:15 February 2010
Don't buy this if you need a PS/2 connector or use a switchbox for multiple computers. This mouse only works when you plug it directly into the USB of your computer. Wish they had put that more specifically in the Specifications. Now I have to return it. Can't say much for the performance itself because I only got it to work on my laptop and don't need a corded mouse there.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Corded Mouse M500
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lonewolf
from canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very solid mouse for your money!

Date:31 January 2010
Very solid mouse for your money! It does almost every thing you need it to. The hyperfast scroll is awesome but can turn it off with the press of a button of needed. The software controles for osx are handy but they should really add more controls to scroll through web pages and tabs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>