Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Mice Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Bluetooth® Mouse M555b

Ready to do business with your Bluetooth®-enabled laptop.
Average Customer Rating:
3.795 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
2
26 out of 39(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Review 1 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jeis
from Australia

Bluetooth Mouse M555b - 4 year lifespan is great

Date:18 July 2013
We bought this mouse in very late 2008 from memory at top dollar and has survived until recently. Absolute no major issue with this mouse and very easy to use especially the flywheel keeps going and going and going, but now is the end of the mouse's life.
Over about the last year, the mouse has gradually been getting worse with powering off-reconnecting the sync and using alkaline or rechargeable batteries make no difference. Fair enough for 4.5 years of use is great.
Today, July 2013, it's time for it's replacement for another M555b as it is too annoying waiting a couple of minutes for the mouse to resync.
Still highly recommended given it's lifespan!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wireoffcut
from Lachlan TAS 7140, Australia
Age: 65 or over
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: One Month to a Year

M555b Slumbers too soon

Date:21 May 2013
This mouse works just fine and does everything a mouse should do, excepts that it goes off to sleep far too quickly, and then takes an age to wake it up again.
I use other Wi-fi, non bluetooth Logitech mice that don't have this problem, so why does this one?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jarred88
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Best Mouse Ever

Date:21 June 2012
to all these people complaining learn how to use it first, ive used this mouse on macbook air hp dv6 (win 7) and compaq cq62 (linux mint) and ive never had any problems i will say it works best on mac but that because windows bluetooth drivers/programs are a joke so if you know anything about computers then this is a great mouse to all the whinging noobs get a corded mouse or ask for help dont just put a good product down.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Disappointed
from Melbourne, Victoria
Expertise: Proficient User

A disapppointment

Date:10 June 2012
I've had this M555b mouse for almost 12 months and it has worked reasonably well for most of that period. Despite installing the software and following all relevant instructions, the mouse has never seemed able to fulfill all the advertised functions; the scroll wheel has never worked properly, being only the same as any $5 mouse.
Now the mouse has stopped working entirely. The blue LED flashes, but the red mouse LED does not work at all. At least I think it used to be red. Batteries have been renewed to no avail. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software and have wasted many hours trying to find out what the problem is. Unless Logitech can suggest a quick fix, I'll be binning this mouse and replacing it with a non-bluetooth mouse. I have many other Logitech gadgets, including a wireless mouse that has "just worked" for many years and has been a real pleasure to use. The Bluetooth experiment has been very disappointing.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia11 June 2012
Hi, thanks for your feedback, our products come with a 1/2 or 3 Year Limited Warranty depending on the product. Please buzz our Support Team on 1800 025 544 who can help you organise a replacement.
Review 5 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AusJD
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Works a treat

Date:4 May 2012
Paired straight away with my HP laptop running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bill
Expertise: Proficient User

Uninstalls its own driver

Date:3 February 2012
Win 7 It goes well when it goes but have to keep reinstalling driver, what a huge waste of time. Most unstable mouse I've ever had.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia6 February 2012
Hey Bill, we really aren't why your PC would need to keep re-installing the driver. Please call our Support Team on 1800 025 544
Review 7 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
neale

Worst logitech experience so far

Date:18 August 2011
I've been happy with my other (many) logitech products, but this one has broken that run, on every win 7 notebook I've tried it, it uninstalls itself,claiming that the driver is faulty, when I searched the issue on the net I found numerous other reports of exactly the same experience. It would appear that this is the lemon of the logitech world.
ALSO, why isn't there a M555b compatible driver ON THE LOGITECH site?
Rather unhappy with this device and the fact that I wasted money on it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia25 August 2011
Hi Neale, here is the link to the drivers for the M555b which includes a Win 7 driver http://www.logitech.com/en-au/428/5747?WT.z_sp=Image

We would also suggest contacting our Support Team via logitech.com (just click the button at the top) where you can reach them via email, phone or our forums to help you with the product. In the case that it is faulty, the team will help organise a solution for you.
Review 8 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chris
from India
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The one I was waiting for!

Date:12 July 2011
Yesterday I bought this M555b. I surfed thru the internet and found this perfect fit for my need. As I wanted to use this with my laptop as well as my Android Mobile which supports Bluetooth HID. Its simply awesome and looks great!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JC

Good Alternate Bluetooth Mouse for Mac

Date:23 June 2011
I bought this mouse for my Macbook as alternate to the Apple products for two reasons:
1. Price (it was $30 cheaper)
2. Button Function (I prefer a "click" button and real scroll wheel)
The mouse functions well; connects quickly at turn-on and the free wheeling scroll wheel is great.
My only gripe is that I wanted to modify the switch application button so installed the logitech software. It checked for updates at installation and informed me there were none. Once in the Logitech software it would not recognise the mouse (even though I was using it).
I visited the logitech support site and discovered there is a later software version for OS X Snow Leopard. Once this was installed it all worked fine. Bit frustrating though after being informed that all software was up to date.
Other than that I'd still recommend the mouse for Macbooks as a great alternate to the Apple products.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
John
from Sydney NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Messy Set-up but a Great Mouse.

Date:29 May 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Setting up the M555b was awkward from the start.
Packaging sealed the mouse in very tightly, so needed scissors to rip it apart. If you have arthritis (I do not) you would struggle.
The WORST aspect about the mouse was the accompanying software "Setpoint".
When following the instructions, you place the CD in, and the CD says "Install the latest drivers from the Logitech Site". Which is fine IF you have internet ready. I did, and that's where the fun began!
Went to the logitech site and quickly found the software support/download section for the Mouse.
I downloaded both the quick set-up driver file (Around 2 Megs) and the complete driver file (around 25 Megs).
I use Windows 7, and both driver packages when installed failed to show any text on the screen that you would use to select your product or tick any boxes to proceed with install. The screen-grab picture attached demonstrates the useless interface you might experience under Windows 7 on a 32-bit PC.
I had to resort to using the accompanying CD with old drivers for Vista (not Win 7). To my surprise it worked (I used compatability mode to make sure).
This took about an hour to set up a device which should take less than 10 minutes. It's a mouse...NOT a computer build.
After that however, using the old Setpoint 4.72.40 software and driver was easy to recognise my mouse and reconnects quickly after restart (just move the mouse for a second and it re-establishes the bluetooth connection). I have used the mouse for over a week without any hassles, and using the old Setpoint software allows me to configure mouse buttons etc.
The scroll button has two functions. If you press it down, it changes the way the scroll works from a smooth, to a rachet system. Pressing down hard enough to hear a click means it shifts from smooth to the traditional rachet/notch system. The smooth scroll allows you to really speed up the scrolling process. I am now quite a fan of it and don't use the old rachet system.
The sad thing is this means there is no usual "Middle" mouse button (always handy for opening up a new tab in the web-browser). What I did to get around that was to assign the button under the scroll button as the "Middle Button" in the setpoint software.
I chose this mouse as it frees up a USB port on my netbook which has only two USB ports. All the other wireless mice require a port to be used with a tranceiver; inconvienient when you only have two ports to begin with.
I have had this product for over a week, and can say apart from the messy set-up with the downloaded Setpoint Software, the mouse hardware seems sturdy and the mouse works well from a distance of up to three metres away from the netbook.
Logitech...PLEASE sort out this stupid Setpoint install software problem. Otherwise it's a nice product.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
gorby
from NQ
Expertise: Proficient User

worst mouse ever

Date:27 May 2011
the bluetooth just keeps turning off, it will not turn back on with out going through the whole reconnect deal. It is a pain, when it works it is a mouse. But do not buy it if you want a mouse it will just give you a pain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia27 May 2011
Hi, you have have a faulty product. All our products have a replacement warranty so just go to logitech.com and click the Support button at the top of the page and our team will sort you out in no time.
Review 12 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
spicies8472
from Sydney NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

great pairer nokia n8, toshibaT130 ad more

Date:20 May 2011
Sleek looking and functional hardware and no problems with BT software pairing for many different devices
It pairs with nokia n8 which is fun, toshibaT130 & more
unlike microsoft BT mouse 5000 which does pair with nokia n8 and just with windows typical of microsoft
qudos for 'Officeworks' they exchanged microsoft for logitech no questions asked
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flick
from Melbourne, Vic
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Why is it not rechargeable?

Date:11 April 2011
Nice mouse, and I'm happy to see that there is at least a few BT devices around now. I bought this because I need to conserve usb ports on my laptop, and had no issues with getting the BT to work and pair, but the battery life is shocking and they die at the most inconvenient times! Why is this not rechargeable? It's totally ridiculous to have to rely on standard batteries in 2011.
Replaced it with a much-lighter Targus that recharges via USB cable, and also included a USB-Power adaptor. Now that is a true mobile computing mouse!
I love Logitech devices as a rule, and they are a dream to use but they've dropped the ball with mobile support and this new :unifying: usb thing is a crock - it still takes up a precious usb port for no good reason. Bluetooth is standard on laptops and notebooks these days!
Having to carry batteries around is a PITA. Having only two choices for BT wireless mice, and neither of them being rechargeable shows a sad lack of knowledge about what users actually need.
*shrug*
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia29 June 2011
Hi, thanks so much for providing us your feedback and taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it. This information is fed back to our Support and Product Teams to help us improve our products or services.

Our SetPoint software will actually help to manage and warn you about the batteries about to run out so that you can be prepared for your next journey with the mouse and not carry spares.

We research, design and develop products with the aim of catering to changes in consumer behaviour, technology & platform changes so rest assured we are always looking for new avenues or features to explore in our ranges.
Review 14 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fishdog93
from Cairns, QLD
Expertise: Proficient User

gr8 bluetooth mouse for being o the go :)

Date:28 March 2011
Bought this mouse because i got a new vaio but have always hated laptop mousepads. Expected great gear and as usual logitech has answered this with apparent ease. The quality is great especially considering it is one of the cheaper BT mice on the market, and has a great feel ( i love having it in my hand). Always forget about back and forth buttons on mice however using the setpoint software i have found the tilt wheel has been getting constant use. While the frictionless scrolling is fun it does take a bit to get used to the fact it isn't a generic middle button :) assigning that function to the left tilt soon fixed that problem, and as i dont have much use for an application switcher i assigned that to a mute/unmute function. all round good perfomance, however i am slightly disappointed that it doesnt work on glass as some laser mice now do. Also i am not entirely sure that setpoint allows this mouse all the features that some other logitech mice get, however there are still plenty enough to chouse from. If there were a 10/10 and a <3 button they would be ticked :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nat93*
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Mouse!

Date:27 March 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Great Mouse! Love the hyper-scroll feature, along with the ability to change the scroll speed. Easy connectivity with Mac OS and Win 7. Macbook's have limited USB ports (2) and with this connecting via Bluetooth I still have both USB ports free! The application switch button is a great feature. The battery life is great. Bluetooth used to use so much battery power, but now it doesn't. I've kept the original batteries that came with it in, and i'm still using it over 2 months later! I recommended this to a friend, he purchased one, and loves it as much as I do! Great buy for the price I paid!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryan
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Simply stunning.

Date:17 March 2011
After almost a good 10 years with a trusty old Logitech iFeel that even tracked on soaked mousepads, I thought it was time for an upgrade.
The M555B is an amazing experience. My new laptop detects it after two seconds of turning it on, it's portable yet comfortable in the hand, and the scroll wheel is out-of-this-world. Even if you don't use the frictionless feature, standard click-scrolling is ridiculously better than the average mouse.
I would only improve it by adding a couple more programmable buttons, hardware accelerating the alt+tab function on the middle button, and possibly adding some grippy rubber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Butterfly
from Victoria, Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The Best Mouse EVER

Date:2 December 2010
This is without a doubt the best mouse I have ever used.
I do a huge amount of scrolling through photographs for work and this makes my boring job so much easier.
I have the middle button set to open new web tabs and after about a day or so of using it it really becomes second nature.
That being said, it's not the most comfortable mouse I've ever used. It's quite flat and a bit small even for my little girlie hands.
I get about 2 -3 months out of each set of batteries before I need to replace them. We turn the mouse off when we remember but it's usually on and in use constantly. I don't understand how anyone can only be getting a week out of their batteries.
I did find the mouse moved too fast when I first started using it so I slowed it down and changed a few of the other settings to suit my needs and now it's perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sorry

Performance

Date:19 August 2010
I like the size, the looks, the feel, if only I could get it
to work. Each time I turn off my computer I have
to re start my mouse. Sometimes it won't start at
all, like now :-( Someone must have been reading
this report. It's working now :-) Good Luck !
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Crumbley
from England
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Super Mouse.

Date:9 June 2010
I have used the M555b mouse for the last 8 months.
I looked at reviews before I got it and while the reviews were generally good, there were some complaints that the cursor wandered, the batteries didn't last long and that the connection wasn't very reliable.
My experience is that none of these complaints were anything to do with the mouse.
I have found it to be extremely reliable, precise and a joy to use.
Of course an ambidextrous mouse will not have the exact shape of your hand, but look at the advantages.
The spin wheel makes navigation easy, it can be used as a remote control, there is only one object to pack, and it is a design classic.
To those reviewers who complained I would say, if you complain about the battery life - use good batteries, if your cursor wanders - find out which program is overloading your PC, if you have trouble connecting - use the Logitech set up software and check that your PC Bluetooth is enabled.
My M555b connected immediately and has performed faultlessly ever since.
It would be nice if it beeped in response to a whistle similar to a key finder. I would then have less trouble finding which papers it's hiding under!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bluetooth® Mouse M555b
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AE2B

Love It!

Date:1 June 2010
I had been looking for a replacement for Apple's skittish Magic Mouse because I'd often set the screen scrolling just by grabbing it. And successfully manipulating a right-click was like doing brain surgery - arrghh!
I already had replaced Apple's tiny, Chiclet keyboard with a full-fledged one from Logitech and was hoping to find a mouse that used their unifying USB receiver - not many of those do so for the Mac. So I ended up looking for a Bluetooth model.
I have not been disappointed. It is small and meant to pair with notebooks, but I use it with my iMac and appreciate the fact it doesn't take up much desk space and I'm not wielding this gargantuan mouse with more bells and whistles than I really need.
Only once towards the beginning did it seem to have a time delay where the pointer wasn't moving in sync with me. Other than that, it has been as precise as any mouse I've had.
Scrolling is a breeze. Clicking the scroll wheel between hyper-scrolling and notched-scrolling is convenient and a capability I really appreciate. Sometimes you just want to notch down through text and other times you want to breeze through your album cover art in iTunes.
It comes with software to fine-tune your button's capabilities, but it will pair up with your iMac without even loading it and I haven't had the need to do so.
I highly recommend this mouse!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>