Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Bundles Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Speaker System Z523

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Speaker System Z523

A 2.1 speaker system that lets you rediscover the art of listening&em;all around the room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 34 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speaker System Z523
Review 1 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spud1
from Ballarat
Expertise: Proficient User

Solid.

Date:29 May 2012
Just upgraded to these from the x140's.Great sound. Sound is solid and full. Very pleased with the sound and material quality. Only gripes are the speakers are very prone to fingerprints and the bass is very prominent which is not a big deal as the bass can be controlled. Overall very happy!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
musiclover

great sound..shame about headphones

Date:23 January 2012
the sound quality from this system, for what it is, is amazing. BUT plung in your Good head phone is a waist of space, plug them into your computer for better control & sound quality.
Yes I love my music & yes playback must be great.
The speakers give that when you use them by themselves. Base is brilliant, pump it up & watch the table shake. Sound reproduction does not warp if you ramp it up. Love the fact you have controls in side speaker for both bass & volume.
But I am also crazy about when I have headphones on. & this does not offer enough control.
All in all logitech, job well done.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Marc
from Perth, Western Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

2.1 Speakers that punch above their weight

Date:17 December 2011
I bought these as I was getting sick of having 5.1 that took up too much space and couldnt plug my headphones in without getting to the back of my PC.
I didnt get myself worked up but from the moment you pick them up out of the box, you can feel there is some sturdiness to these speakers and the sub, they dont just feel like a plasticky pair of el cheapos.
I love the fact you can have them facing any which way and the 360 sound works pretty well but not useful when the desk is facing a wall. The headphone jack can be hard to see if you are in a dark area and it can be a hassle trying to find the hole sometimes but it is very handy.
Sound wise, at 30% the sub sounds awesome and I have not dared crank it higher. This set is more suited to movies and music than gaming but they do an excellent job overall. The higher pitched sounds just dont quite seem to come out right.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hendocore
from Newcastle
Expertise: Proficient User

I hated satalite speakers till now

Date:6 November 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Z523 .
I love my 10 year old shelf speakers I payed a grand for. I have always dismised satalite speakers and those alike. One of my mates had a logitech 2.1 speaker systems and I was blown away! Im still in didbeleif how you can acheive such a wide range of sound out of a 2 inch speaker, and with plenty of volume. One of my friends wanted a mad sound system with minimal budget. So i decided to go this way. Went down to shop, and went yep, 2.1, right price grabed it and walked out having no idea how good these speakers pump. They have put together these speakers so the performance is totaly maximized. Ive head of sub wooffers with a push pull system or 360 whatever u wana call it, but not 2 inch satalites, insane, to my ear the sound quality is up there, but not nearly, with my shelf speakers. I listen to techno and the electronic sounds are mastered. I have them each positioned facing over inwards so the sounds have more angles to bounce off, this works for me. But why the ports on the back? alot of bass is being lost shot out the back, but there must be a decant reson, I dont know. Never seen a sub set up like that, I googled it, Passive radiator they call it, after all these years ive never seen it and ive had a ridiculous amount of pumping subs and this enclosure just so happens to be the most effective way to have a sub enclosed. Im gona turn my 15'' sub into a passive radiator now im pumped lol i wonder. Who has a 5.25'' driver? isnt it like 4, 6, 8, 12 ect weird, but who gives a care, this little beast shakes the room, and we now get noise complaints and bashing on the walls from the neighbours prety much every day. Im in love with this little system, though it hurts me to beleive something so small can kick so much butt. I tell you what but, I wish it had a remote! but im dealing with it. so well worth $130 and I just seen there throwing in a wirless with it, im nearly about to buy it so i can cart them round with me to mates houses with my dj equipment. I wana hear the Z623, thats gota be insane. Over all I give a "yeah" "Thats Gold"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haydo
from Brisbane, QLD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Z523= Rich, Quality Sound

Date:18 August 2011
I am hard to please as far as sound systems and speaker systems bass and treble go. This system has awesome bass and treble, and still has rich quality sound when played either super quiet or super loud!!! Only hassle I have with it is that even when it is not plugged into the computer, it occasionally makes a series of buzzing noises which can get pretty annoying. But other than that I would and have recommended this system to anyone!!! (People who have gone and bought one commented on the awesome sound) Well worth the money for a sleek, easy to use, awesome sound with bass you can feel, Speaker System!!! Great Product!!! Good work Logitech!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia25 August 2011
Hi Haydo, thanks so much for your review & feedback. In regards to the buzzing noise, please contact our Support Team via logitech.com (hit the button at the top) and you can speak to them via email, phone or the forum to help troubleshoot that and in the case it is faulty they will help sort out a solution for you.
Review 6 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LPT 12006
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great PC Speakers

Date:27 July 2011
I got these beautiful speakers a while ago to pair with my desktop as they had terrible built in speakers. After setting up everything which was also a breeze, I proceeded to play back some music and games and boy was I blown away (literally). Sound quality was superb, I could hear every note that I couldn't before and the strong bass added to the effect.
In terms of looks, you would find much sleeker speakers for the price you're paying. They fit perfectly on any desk and the subwoofer fits nicely under most desks. Note that the sub is relatively large so you will need space.
One thing I love is that there are dedicated bass controls on the right satellite speaker. I find that about half is more than sufficient for most applications.
Overall, If you are looking for a good pair of PC speakers then look no further.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prophecie
from Gosford, NSW
Expertise: Proficient User

Purchased then got a refund

Date:12 July 2011
For computer speakers they were awesome.
nice bass, clear sound and had all the features I wanted!
RCA for me 360, 3.5mm lead for my laptop and headphone and a second 3.5mm input lead in the side of the right speaker which also housed the volume/power and bass knob.
the only problems I found were I had to have my headphone not fully plugged into the right speaker otherwise I would only get one side of my headphones getting sound. This I could live with...
Sadly later while uses the speakers I noticed they were not balanced proper the left speaker was 5X louder then the right or should I say the right was 5X softer then the left! safe to say that my product wasn't giving me much sound out of my left speaker :(
so I reluctantly took it back to my place of purchase and got a refund as I wasn't willing to take another one home to see if would also have the same issue I hope for logitechs sake it isn't a common problem...
If it didn't have unbalanced speakers I would be a very happy man right now :P
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia12 July 2011
Hi Prophecie, thanks for your feedback. Doesn't seem like a normal situation to us. Sound balance can also be effected by your sound card, computer or software settings where you are able to change things like Balance, Tone, Bass etc.

Our products all have a Replacement Warranty to ensure peace of mind and looking at your case it's not a common problem that we have seen.
Review 8 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rossje

Orgas-mic

Date:11 July 2011
These speakers are amazing. The 360 effect is a really good added bonus and it works quite well, filling your room with sound. You can also feel the bass and drums and this sound system is just amazing. can go quite loud too. :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tommycat7

AWESOME

Date:7 July 2011
There simply awesome that's the only word for it.
i can play music and go on Skype with my friends while playing PlayStation (listening to PlayStation).
Really good bass and good sound quality.
it shatters your ears when you turn it up (that's a good thing)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smiggler
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Never gone wrong with Logitech

Date:30 June 2011
These sleek 2.1 speakers just show how much Logitech cares about quality. Sound reproduction is awesome with nice and strong bass.Dedicated bass and volume controls on the right speaker means no hassles. Gloss finish can attract fingerprints however this is to be expected with any glossy item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobby Joe
from Perth, WA
Expertise: Proficient User

BEST SPEAKERS IN THE WORLD

Date:14 June 2011
These Speakers have amazingly good sound, they have a brilliant base booster (sub-woofer) and are excellent value for money, Good On Ya' Logitech!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deon
from Gold Coast OLD
Expertise: Proficient User

Worth every cent!

Date:5 June 2011
These speakers are great! The bass is very good and so is the volume. The bass control is also a very handy feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smiggler
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

So far so good

Date:2 June 2011
this speaker system is a really neat little package. the bass is strong, the controls smooth and overall it's a good speaker system for it's price. Not for audiophiles but great for people with a little more money to spend on than a cheaper 2.0 system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ben
from Sydney

Great speakers for a great price.

Date:14 February 2011
These speakers are great value for money. Speakers are loud enough for any room. Audio quality is superb especially with the booming bass from the sub. Easy to use. I've used this with my ipod, computer and ps3. Great for games and music.
Have used these speakers for over a year and have had no problems so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zaylee
from Perth
Expertise: Proficient User

Great speakers

Date:27 January 2011
I love the speakers, i think the bass is really good. I use them with my ipod and my computer. The sound is good.
I think they are great value for money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dwayne77

Speakers, Absolutely Rubbish Quality !

Date:12 January 2011
Logitech have bad quality speakers lately, these speakers the sub woofer keeps making horrible noises out of it even when its only plugged into power and is off.
I have had the same issue with a different Logitech model one down from this model.
What happened to Quality control Logitech !
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia15 January 2011
Hi dwayne77

If you are in Australia we would like to see if we can help you. We don't normally have that sort of feedback on our speakers and you may just have the odd faulty unit. If they are under warrant we have a full replacement warranty and we can help you get them swapped. Please email generalaus@logitech.com
Review 17 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christine
from Sydney, NSW Australia
Expertise: Proficient User

Loving the speakers & 360 effect

Date:10 January 2011
I bought the Z523 for my ipod instead of an ipod dock because I wanted a speaker with better quality and a good powerful subwoofer since I like to listen to my music loud.
The first time I tested the speakers my sister came into my room and she couldn't tell where the music was coming from because of the 360 sound effect. I had to point to where the speakers where and she said they sound really good and even wanted one for her room.
My room is small and these speakers sound amazing, even better when I turn it louder.
I also hook the speakers to my laptop and you can hear a major difference in quality with HD videos from youtube.
I'm so glad i got these!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moshpit95

Pretty good

Date:4 January 2011
These speakers work well for as i am mainly using them for music, only problem i have with these is my right front speaker has started making a rattling sound and it is quite annoying, i am taking it back to the store i purchased it from and getting a completely new one, it has to be a faulty speaker because i do not listen to my music loudly and only the front right speaker has started this rattling, the back right speaker and both left speakers are 100% working, besides that they are a really good speaker.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avi

Z523

Date:4 December 2010
These speakers have amazing quality and the subwoofer is very gud and delivers awesome bass i got mine 4 100 bucks i think they r tottaly worth it
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Speaker System Z523
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
h8_the_drake
from the Chicagoland area
Expertise: Proficient User

Slightly Dissapointed but Great Sound Quality

Date:31 October 2010
My Z523 model makes a very noticeable buzzing sound between all audio when the power is on. Only the right speaker works then the volume is at a relatively low level. This could be because the volume control/bass controls are built in on the right speaker and the right speaker has a more advanced connector to the subwoofer than the left speaker has to the subwoofer. The speakers are slightly bulky and the design is just okay. The sound is premium and impressive when the volume is at a medium or high level. The subwoofer seems more technologically advanced which is positive. The price jumped 30 U.S. dollars one month after purchasing the product now that the holidays are approaching. I am less impressed with this model compared to my previous Logitech speaker system from roughly the same price range.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>