Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Lapdesks + Cooling Pads Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Speaker Lapdesk N700

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Speaker Lapdesk N700

Get immersed in everything you enjoy on your laptop with all-in-one sound and comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Review 1 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rmk074
from Fremantle, WA
Expertise: Proficient User

N700 - Truely Awesome

Date:10 January 2012
I was so excited when I won the "big daddy" of lapdesks the N700. Previously I was using a cheap lapdesk and wasn't impressed by it. I instantly fell it love with the N700. It's extremely comfortable to use in bed, especially seeing as it has the cushioned base. Another feature I absolutely love are the "feet" at the bottom of the lapdesk which stops my laptop from sliding off. Another great feature of the lapdesk is the cooling fan which you have the option of turning on or off. The best bit about the lapdesk is the speakers, They are truely awesome and give out a great sound. You have the option of muting and also volume control on the side of the lapdesk which is extremely handy.
I give this lapdesk 10/10 and recommend it to everyone. If your thinking of upgrading do it, you won't be disappointed!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10461
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Bass in your... lap

Date:18 May 2011
Logitech N700 Lapdesk
First Impressions:
Once again the courier arrives at the office to deliver me another little baby from the Logitech stork! As impatient as ever, my curiousity is peaked and I have to check what’s in there (although I’m already fully aware it’s the Lapdesk for me to Test and Review). I decide I should wait until I get home to really get stuck into unpacking it.
Hours pass, my brain caving in about writing this review and just wanting to unbox and get stuck in. I finally get home and have another look at it, it’s quite a large product and I worry about the portability of the unit.
As I unbox it, I can help but wonder if it comes in any other colours, and then i think about every other Logitech product I own. Everything, from remotes, to speakers, mice, keyboards, webcams, even iPod peripherals are predominantly black with silver accents (except the harmony 515, but that’s for the rest of the house, not me). The stark white is a little off-putting for me personally, but the shape, detail and feel of the product is as I expected. All the grip points are slightly rougher, the cushion looks extremely sharp and it shapes around my 16” laptop nicely.
I decide the best way to do this review is as I use it while everything I’m thinking is fresh in my mind. So first time test, Following the instructions, I shut down iTunes and WMC to plug in the USB connection. The driver installed no problems, but I couldn’t hear the fan or anything going. Seconds pass and I worry that something has gone wrong, but after looking underneath, sure enough, the tiny fan is belting away at full speed without making a single sound.
Next, the speakers, I start up iTunes and begin to play the first song I find with the maximum amount of bass, as the 3.5mm jack on my laptop seems to radically eliminate bass whenever it’s plugged into my Z5500s or any other system. No sound from the Lapdesk, it’s still coming out of the tiny little things in the front of the computer. Going through the sound settings on the computer, it’s found the unit, but hasn’t let it take control of the sound. Easily fixed. I start again, iTunes, bass, POW! The sound is incredible, a million times louder and deeper than any sound that has ever come from my laptop.
Control and Review
After using the unit a couple of times now and actually taking the unit with me to other people’s houses, I have come to the realisation that it is quite portable and everybody else is very impressed with the product. The N700 is becoming something that I now will not use my laptop without.
In the interest of controlling the experiment, I’ve put my laptop straight onto my lap today. It feels strange and awkward. I’m now realising that the viewing angle is too low and my neck is off-kilter. My hands feel comfortable, however, I know that as the laptop is raised, ergonomically my feeling about hand placement will change. Also, my legs, although not unbearable, the heat from the laptop is uncomfortable. Another thing to note from this is how far apart I can have my legs. The lapdesk, being wider, allows for wider leg positioning (for me, more comfort).
To start wrapping this up, efficiency. The USB link only required a single set-up and hasn’t conflicted with any other settings since. The lapdesk hasn’t, as I thought it would, drained the battery on a consistent basis. If there has been any effect, it is neglible.
The design is functional and the materials used highlight their function, buttons and the USB cable holder are grippy rubber. The plastic pieces between and underneath the speaker grilles are not glossed, which allows the grips on the laptop to secure itself (important in this particular case, as the laptop I own cuts away from where the support tabs flip up).
Output wise, the speakers are incredible and completely rejuvenated my listening to music from my laptop. The cooling fan performs incredibly, you almost wouldn’t know it was there, but lift up your laptop to check it, it packs some serious blow power.
I have taken the lapdesk with me to other people’s houses during this test, their feelings about the product basically echo mine. I love the product, but without seeing it in use and having it recommended to me for my specific needs, I wouldn’t consider buying one.
My criticisms and suggestions are few, but anyway here they are.
The stark white is a garish contrast to my laptop, which doesn’t matter around the home, but is noticeable when unpacking and even when shopping for the product.
Final Thoughts
As a lapdesk suited for laptops up to 17”, there’s not much ‘desk’ left over, since the speaker grilles are removable for cleaning, could this be a place where accessories could be built on/in. I still like using a notepad and pen for jotting things down, but it becomes a cumbersome and awkward effort while using the lapdesk. Also, possibly something like a cup-holder could also be an option. Granted this removes some of the portability of the unit
Like with most advances in technology and the accessories with it, you can live without until you update and purchase. I dealt with a desktop for years, I won’t go back from a laptop now. Since the laptop, I haven’t felt a specific need for a lapdesk, until I used one. The product is brilliant overall, but it would be great to watch the evolution of the lapdesk into something which is indispensible.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
settinsun
from Sunshine coast qld au
Expertise: Tech Savvy

toshiba qosmio 18.4 laptop

Date:10 May 2011
Basically this is a very well made product , it carries my large Qosmio quite well .
Most other reviews tell it true ,so i wont go over old ground.
There is one thing only that really needs to be addressed and that is the Lapdesk taking over the computers audio.
most of my Useage is with headphones .....the only way to use them is to disconnect the Lapdesk.....so the comfort lounge that it is ..is only that nothing else .....maybe with some research i may find a way around it.
I might add it has a nice angle to it.
I dont put it on my lap , but on small tablebeside my bed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia10 May 2011
Hi

In Windows or on your MAC you can keep the Lapdesk plugged in and manually change the Audio source in your sound setting options from the Lapdesk to your other sources.
Review 4 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris
from Brisbane, QLD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N700 Review by LPT10078

Date:3 April 2011
This is a must for anyone that uses a laptop from your lap, be it at home in bed or out by the pool. The heat that builds up from your laptop at times can be insane. Since i recieved the Lapdesk, i have not stopped using it. My laptop is so much cooler (with the inbuilt cooling fan), my legs dont get scared from the heat of the laptop and my Mac performs so much better from not over heating. The other day i was using the N700 Lapdesk and was in a rush and forgot to use it while burning a CD. My Mac got hot like rocks in a burning camp fire, quickly i connected the Lapdesk N700 and helped cool my laptop in a fast safe manor.
Being a professional person and always working on my laptop late at night, this is a product that all companies should provide to their employees when they give their staff laptops to work on at night. The cooling fan is a must have option.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kwetty
from Melbourne, Vic
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Now i can use my Laptop pretty much anywhere

Date:30 March 2011
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Hi everyone,
First i would like to thank the Marketing team of Logitech Australia for the opportunity to test the latest N700 lapdesk under the product review of their facebook fanpage.
Keep the great job guys.
Ok, the lapdesk came in a very large box that could fit 2 boxes of N700's inside and was well protected.
Out of the box, all i had to do is to get rid of the packaging, cable ties and hop my laptop onto it, plug the USB and voila, windows detected in a couple of seconds and what an amazing sound took over the laptop speakers.
The speakers in the lapdesk N700 delivers a far better sound quality, with much depth, thanks to the little subwoofer effect.
The control buttons are simple and yet effective to control the volume, mute and let's not forget that the N700 is also a cooling pad!!!, there is another slide switch that turns on/off the quiet fan underneath the laptop.
So now i can enjoy wonderful music and movies pretty much anywhere from the comfort of my lap without worrying that my core i7 would burn my lap (literally)
nice touch to the details too: the removable speaker cover, cable routing, foam padding, and soft touch buttons.
It's the perfect product for you if you've got a hot laptop that needs to be carried around the house/office, however the only downside is the size, its not something you would be able to carry around when you're on the move, because it doesn't fit in any laptop bag.
Enjoy your laptop to the max, with logitech!
LPT10086
Video of the review attached below.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10215

Date:21 March 2011
I finally received the N550 to test!! WOW what a great product, not only can you play your music through it, it keeps my laptop cool and free from overheating! It is comfortable when its sitting on your lap. I have let my kids and some friends have a go of it and they love it, my friend is so impressed with it hat hes going out to buy one - Thanks again Logitech :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ajax
from Sydney
Expertise: Tech Savvy

N700 Review (LPT10339)

Date:5 March 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am a member of the Logitech Product Tester Program (LPT10339) and for the past few weeks I have been using the N700 Lapdesk. I have been testing it with two laptops: an old Dell Inspiron 1720 laptop, which is a large 17” widescreen laptop; and a smaller and even older HP NC8000 laptop. In this review I will cover quite a few topics, starting firstly with design.
DESIGN
The N700 is a large lapdesk. It easily accommodates the big Inspiron 1720 with room to spare. Even with this laptop on it, the speakers on the sides of the lapdesk are not covered or blocked, allowing the sound to remain un-muffled. Construction of the N700 is robust with very little flex in the plastics, and no parts squeaking or rubbing together. It has thick padding on the underside consisting of multiple layers finishing with a tight web design on the outermost layer holding everything together. The padding is grey and the tabs have green highlights, while the actual desktop area is white. These colours combined with the shape and contours of the lapdesk make it an aesthetically pleasing device.
It is clear that ergonomics played a major part in the design of the N700. The thick padding on the bottom makes it comfortable to use, while the width of it means that even the widest of laps will be able to use this comfortably. The lapdesk is tilted forwards so that if you’re sitting there with the N700 in your lap your keyboard is placed appropriately, comfortably, and ergonomically. This also means that it won’t fall off the back of the lapdesk if you move around. There are two flip up tabs at the front base of the N700 to stop your laptop sliding forward. The N700 is quite weighty given its size and durability, but the thick padding on the bottom helps to conceal it as it doesn’t really feel heavy in your lap, even with a laptop on it. The ergonomics are also apparent if you use the lapdesk on a table. It raises the laptop up to a suitable height, and tilts it forward making it easier to type on.
FEATURES
The N700 lapdesk has quite a few features, and these help to set it apart from its competitors. Firstly, and this is perhaps its most notable feature, it has two speakers in it. Secondly, it has a fan in it to cool your laptop. The speakers are small but they sound better than what I was expecting, certainly better than any standard laptop item. They are more than enough to watch a movie with or listen to music with, if, for example, you’re sitting in bed finishing that last bit of work for tomorrows’ meeting. They also have removable speaker covers, so that if they get dirty or dusty you can easily clean them. The fan is situated in the middle of the lapdesk, sucking up through an opening in the padding and blowing out through a grille in the top of the lapdesk onto the underside of the laptop. Both the speakers and the fan are powered by the laptop, via one USB cable. The cable is long enough so that even laptops that have USB ports on the side can still use it. On the right hand side of the N700 is a small control panel that lets you control the speakers and fan. You can turn the fan on and off, as well as adjust the volume of the speakers or mute them altogether. The N700 also features a small rubber cable clip that can be used to hold the USB cable when it’s not in use, or to hold any other cable.
USE
The N700 proved to be more comfortable after extended use than I was expecting. Even after an hour or so of having it in my lap I was not uncomfortable or sore from the weight of it and the big Dell laptop. It also proved to be quite stable, rarely shifting around or sliding off my legs. Most importantly, it raised the laptop up and kept the heat of the laptop away from my body. The fan of the N700 is for all intents and purposes, silent, only slightly audible in the very quietest of rooms. When you can hear it all you hear is the movement of air, no high pitched whine. While the fan did keep the outside of the laptop cool, it failed to actually cool the laptop’s internals down. I tested it with both laptops using one program called HWMonitor (http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitorpro.php) and another called Burn In Test Pro (http://www.passmark.com). HWMonitor gives real time values for temperatures on your motherboard, video card and hard drive, if those devices have temperature sensors on them. Burn In Test pro is a program designed to stress test computer components of your choosing, by using them to their full capacity all at once. To do the tests I had each laptop in turn sitting on the lapdesk with the fan off and the laptop doing nothing. No programs were open except for Burn In test and HWMonitor. I took screenshots of the temperatures then did a 15 minute stress test. HWMonitor recorded the temperature values including the maximum and minimum, and I captured the results in a screenshot. After waiting for the laptops to drop in temperature and clearing the temperature results, I performed the tests again, this time with the N700 fan on, capturing the results once again. The results are below:
Fan Off Unstressed Stressed
Dell 1720 40°C 80°C
HP NC800 40°C 66°C
Fan On Unstressed Stressed
Dell 1720 40°C 80°C
HP NC800 42°C 65°C
At first glance, it appears that the N700 provides little or no cooling to the laptop. I was initially disappointed until I realised why I got the numbers I did. Inside a laptop is a very tight and confined environment, with little airflow and the CPU buried deep inside. For the N700 to cool the CPU (which it is not designed to do in the first place) it would have to be placed much closer to the CPU, have better airflow to it, or have an incredibly powerful fan. What these figures do not show is that the laptop case is cooled significantly. When the laptops are stressed, the plastic forming the case near the CPU gets very hot, almost too hot to touch. When placed near the N700’s fan, this does not happen (unfortunately I have no way of capturing the case temperatures). With the fan on the case temperatures are noticeably and significantly lower, which ultimately means less heat near your legs and less chance of damage to your laptop.
THE DOWNSIDE
There are a few things that I didn’t like about the N700. One of them is that there were no extra USB ports provided. I thought the lapdesk may act as a USB hub or provide a few extra ports since it takes up one, but this was not the case. Perhaps the reason for this is the power limitations associated with USB. To power a fan, speakers, and perhaps another device or two off one USB cable is a lot to ask, and if you’re using your laptops’ battery and not running it off the power supply having too many devices will drain the battery very quickly. The other thing I would like to have seen is the ability to enable or disable the speakers. I don’t mean mute, I mean disable entirely. This is because the N700 adds its speakers as a device to the PC. It’s not like plugging in a set of earphones. The computer actually registers the new device and switches audio output to it. This meant that if, like me, you leave the laptop on the N700 all the time and you want to listen to music from your PC through a stereo and have the N700 fan on, you can’t. With the N700 plugged in it disables all other audio outputs. So to have the stereo plugged into my laptop it meant I had to disconnect the N700, which if course turns the fan off. This is a minor issue though, and I would hazard a guess and say I’m in the minority with this issue. I suspect that a lot of people simply take their laptop off the N700 when they don’t need it, whereas I tend to leave mine on there all the time as its more convenient and I like having the fan cooling it down.
CONCLUSION
Overall, I would definitely recommend the N700 lapdesk to someone. The few minor concerns I have with it would not stop me recommending it because, as I suggested earlier, I’m probably in the minority in those cases. There are design limitations and compromises that the designers had to make when creating the N700. Allowing it to act as a hub and add devices would severely drain the battery life. The compromises they made, I feel, are the right ones because it makes the N700 very good at what it’s designed to do, rather than being merely ‘ok’ at a few things. As a lapdesk it performs very well, providing good ergonomics, sufficient cooling, virtually no fan noise, good speakers, comfort, and quality construction all in one nice package. This is easily one of the best lapdesks on the market today.
SCORE:
Design: 8/10
Features: 7/10
Usability: 8/10
TOTAL: 23/30 Recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mariocrazy
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

How'd I live without it!

Date:28 February 2011
I have been using the Logitech Lapdesk N700 now for the past four weeks as a Logitech Product Tester, and I can say that it is a product that has quickly become a part of my every day routine both at work and at home!
As a primary school teacher, I am currently using the Lapdesk in the classroom and out of hours. At school I often use the Lapdesk sitting on a desk or table as it puts my notebook at a much easier angle to view and work from. The sound produced by the Lapdesk is fantastic and I use it in conjunction with the classroom projector to show movies, videos and play music. The sound produced is clear, loud and of a great volume, perfect for in the classroom. It matches the sound produced by the wall-mounted speakers, and is much easier to plug in and use (the sound almost reminds me a bit of the X520 speakers I have with my desktop, without the bass). In the next few weeks I plan to start using the Lapdesks with the students and their notebook computers, so we can work in a variety of different spaces and not confined to classroom desks. I have no qualms with letting them unpack and connect the product for the first time, it’s that easy!
At home, the Lapdesk has become a part of daily life. As a person who likes to multitask, it is great to be able to whip out the desk and sit on the couch watching TV. Previously there was no good position formally to sit with a laptop in front of the television, but since getting the Lapdesk I have barely turned my desktop computer on. The notebook has taken over all functions, as I can use it where and when I want, which I didn’t do before. The Lapdesk is more than comfortable enough to rest on you for periods of time, and the filling ensures it stays steady when typing, unlike some similar products. If I had to hand this back, I would be straight out to buy one for myself!
The Lapdesk comes in a great eye-catching package and the clear portion of the package really shows off what you’re getting. It was a synch to get started with and worked fine from the get go, no need for any instructions. I do often wonder if the fan is working because it is so quiet when it’s turned on, although you can feel the cold air. The noise made by the computer’s hard disk is much louder than that produced by the fan.
The only downside would be the portability of the Lapdesk as it would not be convenient to carry between work and home on a daily basis. It is rather heavy, although you don’t notice this once it’s on your lap, and the size prevents it from fitting into any laptop bag, although this is understandable for the speakers and the sound they produce. Lucky I have the two of them to keep me going!
LPT10095
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slowy
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Very nice piece of kit

Date:25 February 2011
Well my N700 came just at the right time - just before having to spend 5 days in hospital. With plenty of time on my hands, I needed the laptop to keep my sanity! The lapdesk was extremely stable, kept my laptop cool (despite many long hours of use) and the speakers boosted the sound sufficiently to be heard over the background noise. Overall I would have to say that this is a fantastic piece of kit, as you would expect from Logitech. There are two minor niggles however - the lugs that hold the laptop in place are higher than the casing of a MacBook Pro and get in the way; and the rubber clip to hold the USB wire in place snapped off the first time i used it.
Neil - LPT10558
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BenjaminLee
Expertise: Tech Savvy

My Review

Date:23 February 2011
ere's my review for the Logitech Lapdesk N700 (LPT10052) and i've been using it for about 2 weeks'ish now.
Initial Impression:
Upon receiving my lapdesk 2 weeks ago, the packaging was standard as per usual. When i first glance at the lapdesk, my initial thought was "wow, this thing looks pretty big and bulky, and the material looks cheap, not high quality". Then, i proceded to put my 17" laptop on top of it and test it out. Upon reading the simple guide, the speaker only works if you have insert the usb port into the laptop BEFORE turning on media apps. My initial thoughts was "wow, so this baby functions on usb power and no external power? *good thumbs up*.
Design:
As i mentioned before, this product is pretty heavy and bulky, and the material feels cheap (for RRP 80 I would have expected a better feel/look to the lapdesk). The "cushion" at the bottom feels cheap too. The position of the fanmode, volume, together with the usb wire hanging on top of it, which i reckon is bad too. I think it would have been better if the usb wire was on the left so that it doesn't block it. 4/10
Sound:
Being a lapdesk, you would expect it to play decent quality sound. And to my surprise, it actually exceeds my expectations. This is definitely 500 x times better than my current laptop speaker sound, and the music plays beautifuly without any fussiness, on different genres of music. 7.5/10
Portability:
I will admit i don't usually use my laptop in bed or on top of my lap. The only times I use my laptop is either on my study table or on the sofa next to me (while im playing PS3). So I wont make an opinion on this. All i can say is it fits well to a 17inch laptop and it feels sturdy. 7/10
Others:
Despite the addition of fanmode and volume, I will admit i almost never use them because A) my laptop does not heat up alot being a sony vaio product and B) i'm used to navigate the volume control via the volume buttons on the laptop. Other than that nothing much else to say i guess
My suggestions/Cons:
Make it feel like a top quality product by making the build quality feels and looks better, instead of cheap plastic
Put the usb wire to the left side of the lapdesk so it doesn't block the volume fan buttons
Make it lighter
My Pros:
Decent good quality sound
Very easy to setup/No effort as it is powered by the usb
Conclusion:
This is the first time i have actually used a lapdesk, so i had no prior expectation on what to expect. I will say that i have enjoyed the sound from this lapdesk. From now on i no longer uses my headphone to hear sound, as previously stated my laptop speaker system is awful and i do not have a portable speaker system. Overall, decent product and i hope new and improve 1's will arrive soon !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10251
from Townsville, QLD
Expertise: Newbie

Brilliant design and features

Date:20 February 2011
First Impressions
- I loved the packaging. The cut out panel allows a view of the product without having to open the box. This is a plus for me as I always like to look at what I am purchasing.
- The back panel clearly shows how the product works and I was reassured by a few simple photos and phrases that no technically ability was required to set up my laptop with the lapdesk.
Opening the product
- It was easy to remove the lapdesk from the packaging. There were no fiddling plastic ties or hard plastic that requires scissors. Very quick and easy.
- I noticed the lapdesk had an unpleasant chemical ‘new product’ smell but this quickly dispersed. This was the only downside to the product.
Installation
- Installation was incredibly easy and very fast. Just had to plug in the USB cable which even a novice can’t get wrong.
- For a second I didn’t think the fan was working but then I realised it was exceptionally quiet. I was expecting the fan to be audible so I was amazed at how quiet it was.
Using the product
- The speakers on my laptop are very poor so I was keen to try the speakers on the lapdesk and I wasn’t disappointed. They were very clear for playing music and my son loves the extra sound for gaming.
- I rarely use my laptop at my desk. I mostly have it sitting on my lap while in bed or sitting on a chair. As my laptop gets very hot I was having problems with minor scalding on my legs. This was the main reason I wanted this lapdesk. I am now finding the lapdesk has eliminated this problem and is also providing a stable platform.
- The raised level on the lapdesk makes typing easier and I have less wrist strain when using the laptop on my lap.
- The lapdesk sits comfortably on my lap and weight is evenly distributed.
- Even though the lapdesk is adding extra weight onto my lap, the extra benefits (reducing the scalding and easier working level) meant I could comfortably sit for longer with the computer on my lap.
- The fabric and padding didn’t make my legs sweaty even when using the lapdesk outside on a hot summer’s day.
- I like the little flaps at the front that hold the laptop onto the lapdesk and stop it sliding.
- The surface isn’t too slippery so the laptop doesn’t slide around on the lapdesk under normal lap usage.
Future use
- I am hooked on this product. I will never use the laptop on my lap again without it.
- I am recommending this product to my friends and my mother is keen to buy one now after seeing mine.
Recommendations
- I would love to see side and rear flaps to make it safer when carrying around to reduce the risk of the laptop sliding off. I found it was easier to carry the laptop on top of the lapdesk rather than carry them as two separate pieces. So having a way to secure them together would be fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alanh
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great new laptop accessory.

Date:20 February 2011
LPT10010 – had my N700 lapdesk for just over a week - set up was easy, and the extra sheet supplied explained simply how to get the sound to the lapdesk. The unit feels solid and well built, and the mesh covering and padding is firm and supportive. First computer on it was my daughters MacBook! Very comfortable - laptops are never quite that by themselves, and with the lapdesk you can work with it on your lap without that need to keep moving the laptop to a more 'comfortable' position.
As for the sound, all our laptops have good speakers, but the N700’s are great, much better range and volume - i hate tinny laptop sound. We went away last weekend and decided to take the lapdesk along. I had my Dell laptop and my daughter had her Macbook. Well, I never got to use it, being sick, she spent a lot of the weekend watching movies and tv shows. She loves the lapdesk! (she is 21) and the sound especially. So much better than the inbuilt speakers. Also she could put it on her lap or on the bed or couch without any overheating worries. The only thing she noticed was the pattern left on her legs from the mesh on the lapdesk! Her first impression when it was delivered from Logitech was that ‘why would anyone use one of those?’, now she loves it.
Finally got to use it myself on the weekend with my 15" Dell. No installation, just worked straight away! I watch a lot of music videos and movie clips and the sound is great and you can watch for ages in comfort without a hot lap. Great angle too, and easy access to the volume controls. The clip to hold the USB cord is a good idea, otherwise the cord would just dangle out. Maybe a detachable cord would be better? Then if the connector broke you could just use a standard USB cable.
The packaging was good and the clear bubble at the end showed the padding clearly so you get a good idea of what you are getting before you open the box. One setting change got it going on the Macbook, and on the Dell it just worked straight away after self installing. The Macbook, being a bit lighter moved a bit from side to side – the tabs at the bottom do a good job of holding it vertically – maybe some kind of anti slip surface would hold lighter units better. My heavier 15” Dell stayed in place nicely. The size of the unit handles multiple size laptops well, both the 13” Mac and 15” Dell sat on it well with clearance for the speakers.
My first impression too when it was delivered was that it would be too much trouble to use regularly, not so! - the sound and the comfort, plus ease of use make it a great accessory! Would be great too in the car for those that watch movies in the back seat. May take a bit to catch on, but once you try it - it's great! When you are not using a laptop on a desk – this is the way to go. May not take it when traveling by air, but it’s easy to throw in the car for weekends and holidays. A must for movies and anything where you want good sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10539 Logitech Product Tester
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent Product as per Logitech Standards

Date:20 February 2011
I was lucky enough to be picked to test out this product. First impression of the item was very good. Items is packaged and presented well. Instructions are very clear and simple and makes getting item setup and running very quick. I have never used a cooling stand before but I find including speakers as well a great idea. Lets face it most laptop speakers just don't cut it. I found the sound quality very good and a major improvement to my Macbook Pro's speakers. My only criticism is the bass quality could be a little better but overall the sound quality is excellent. As for the cooling side of the laptop stand I have found it amazing. I have used my Macbook Pro and also my daughters Acer Aspire on the unit and was amazed at how cool it kept both of the laptops. My Macbook Pro is usually fairly warm on the bottom of the laptop but when on the N700 it is completely cool and also kept the laptop's fan speed low. I also found the same on my daughters Acer Aspire which runs very hot and the fan is normally running flat out and very noisy but this was not the case when on the N700. Kept it cool and quiet. The thing that really amazed me was the fact of how quiet the cooling fan is. I actually had to lift my laptop off the first time I used the N700 as I didn't think the fan was working as it makes no noise at all. It is whisper quiet. All up I have found the N700 to be a great item in every aspect. Its comfortable, quiet and has amazing sound quality and volume. The controls are simple to use and well positioned on the unit. The other feature I thought was a god idea is the fact you can remove the speaker grills for cleaning. In summary this is a great product. Very well designed and engineered and would highly recommend this product to anyone who uses a laptop as it will not doubt over time extend the life of your machine due to keeping it cooler than it would normally operate and also has great sound for when your listening to music or watching movies. This item lives up to the standards and quality we have come to expect from Logitech.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10485
from Perth, WA
Expertise: Proficient User

Cool, Comfortable and Sounds Amazing!

Date:17 February 2011
The N700 is simply an amazing product, very easy to set up and get going, it is comfortable for long periods of usage, and the speaker quality is superb.
After reading some reviews about the speaker design not sounding that great for music, I find I have to disagree 100% I think that the music quality from the N700's speakers is fantastic I find it delivers a very crisp, quality 3D sound that I have never heard before from a desktop 2 channel speaker set.
The lapdesks in-built fan is extremely efficient, it does an awesome job at keeping my laptop cool, before when playing games, or doing things that involved high amounts of processing the laptops internal fan would go into overdrive and make a pretty loud noise, but now with the cooling fan it stays quiet all the time.
One of the things I would like to see in future models would be a detachable surface for a mouse, or a slide out mouse pad similiar to the Portable Lapdesk N315's.
Overall an outstanding product, am super happy with it's performance and hope to see Logitech releasing more great products like this one!
(LPT10485)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alienfulla
from Melbourne
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Why didn't anyone think of this earlier?

Date:17 February 2011
Received the N700 a few days ago. Nice clean packaging, minimal plastic & no excessive amounts of cardboard either.
After 3 days the only thing I can say on the negative is that once I disconnect the mains from my laptop.. the lapdesk does drain the battery - about 30% less life (maybe a battery in the next generation?)
On the positive side:
Very quiet fan -
Excellent audio boost - something I've missed since moving to a laptop - Clean, clear sound with minimal distortion.
Installation was simple - had to go into system preferences on the macbook to get it to swap to USB audio - but no software installs or downloads
Comfortable (despite the weight)
Overall, A great product, well thought out & executed, I'll certainly be recommending it to friends (if they don't steal this one)
Product tester: LPT10096
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Channie
from Hobart, Tasmania
Expertise: Newbie

Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N700

Date:17 February 2011
Review of the Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N700
To start things off I would like to thank my partner for signing me up to be a product tester. He was fortunate enough to be a round 1 tester and am loving his Harmony One remote, where was I before that came along, anyway as for round 2 I was luckily enough to product test the new Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N700. Thanks to Logitech for the opportunity to test drive this unique item.
To start off I must say with any Logitech product their packaging is one of the things I love the most so much effort has gone into the packaging of items I am just more amazed and excited about undoing the packaging even more than playing with the actual product.
On first impressions I thought , cool this thing looks but wasn't too sure if I would actually enjoy getting acustomed to using a lapdesk as before the laptop used to just sit on the bed , the floor the coffee table wherever I could pace it. But until now I don't know how I didn't know about this product sooner.
The design of the product is so comfortable for one and the size of my laptop didn't have any problems sitting comfortably on the lapdesk. Plugged in the usb and turned it on, had to check to see if it was actually working as it said it is quiet but couldn't believe how quiet it was going to be. The fan is so cool it makes it a relief that the laptop is getting a bit spoilt for being able to work under these conditions where as before it would struggle and get rather hot depending on conditions.
No I wasn't too sure how this would cooperate with the sound but soon found out when playing a song that oh my it just times my normal laptop inbuilt speakers by 100. To being able to having to turn the actual sound down as before struggling to hear it was amazing.
Overall muchly impressed with this particular item and would most recommend it to friends. Just one qualm about it though is the irritating as I would put Usb plastic tab that is suppose to hold somehow the usb cable which most of the time doesn't hold it and just gets in the way. Somehow if the usb cable could be incorporated a bit better into the lapdesk would make it look more streamlined than it already is other than that 10/10 for a another great product from Logitech.
Loved the opportunity in testing this product and have used it ever since it arrived.
Chantelle LPT10076
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joe
from South Australia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Must have for laptop users!

Date:16 February 2011
LPT10198
I received my Logitech N700 in the mail today, it came very nicely packaged, there is a clear window on the side
where you can see the lapdesk and take a peek. At first i was quite shocked as to the size of the lapdesk, it is
really very large and nicely sized.
The text on the box displays clearly the key features of the product, and is really well designed. There's not
hundred of words of jargon and rubbish, just a clear description of what this product has to offer, which is
really nice to see.
Upon taking the lapdesk from the packaging the design of it and the packaging was like "wow" the pictures of the product
i had seen really didn't justify the beauty of the product. You can definitely tell a lot of thought and care went into
the design of it.
I thought i would be a good boy, so i quickly read over the getting started booklet to read up on the features and such.
Everything was very straight forward and simple and the N700 is a plug and play device, which i think is great, no disc
to lose or misplace amongst a vast collection of driver discs.
I have always thought on getting some form of lapdesk for my laptop, when i have it on my lap for a long period of time
it gets so hot to the point i have to take it off and move to a desk because the heat begins to be too much for my legs to handle.
The speakers on my laptop i have been satisfied with and they have done the job nicely, so the speakers on the N700 are just a bonus.
I was worried that my laptop would not sit nicely on the N700 as it is really large and bulky being a 17" laptop, but the N700
is perfectly sized in my opinion, it would fit any laptop with ease and comfort.
Using my laptop on it for the first time, i plugged it in, then turned the fan on, i was like hey i don't hear anything maybe
its not working for some reason? i lifted the laptop slightly and the fan was powered on sure enough silent as a mouse. Brought
a smile to my face.
The speakers...oh where do i start, i wasn't to fussed about them at first, thinking my laptop speakers were pretty decent,
but i was quite wrong. When i played a song through the N700 i ran to grab my sister and make her listen, the quality of the rich
stereo sound is really quite beautiful. To get such great sound pouring out of a lapdesk is just something really beautiful
and exciting to me. Definitely a great inovation that's been built into the N700 that is really quite unique.
The logitech N700 is definitely a must have for anyone who uses their laptop a great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LPT10503
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great product, hard to find faults.

Date:15 February 2011
(LPT10503)
I have received my N700 Speaker Lapdesk. First impressions were good, the packaging was very well presented although if I was having something like this freighted from an online store or anywhere else I would like to see a bit more shock absorbency in the package - foam, cardboard etc. Having said that though, the N700 feels very sturdy and it would be pretty hard to damage in transit and more often than not it would be placed in another box before being sent.
Overall the design is very comfortable for use on the lap - on the couch sitting up or lying in bed. The only thing I would say about the comfort is that it could have grooves for the thighs to sit in a bit more securely. But again, this is pretty picky and it already is comfortable!
I have had problems with an overheating laptop recently, although all it took was around 10 minutes to cool the machine down to the temperature it should be at. I cannot fault the fan setup in any way.
The speakers are great and even when turned up to full volume there is no distortion whatsoever, although the only thing I would suggest here would be an input for a sub woofer, as I assume some people would use this on a desk simply for sound and cooling. After all though, this is built for use on the users lap so it is in no way a necessity and probably wouldn't be used by many people.
The only other thing I would suggest for future models would be an extra USB port on the Lapdesk so the user still has the same amount after plugging in. I only have 3 USB ports on my laptop, two of which are almost always in use, so this would be a great feature.
All in all I am very happy with the N700 Lapdesk and it is another great product from Logitech.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vanilla
from Central Coast, NSW
Expertise: Proficient User

N700 Speaker Laptop Desk - Brilliant!

Date:15 February 2011
I couldn't wait to get the laptop desk out of it's packaging, and had it set up in minutes. Yes, it's that easy.
I had a quick glance at the instructions just in case, but nothing hard about it at all..
I immediately started up itunes, and got the best sound ever. Loud and clear. I love my mac, but didn't realise how the sound was lacking until I plugged in the lapdesk.
After playing around for a while, I suddenly had a thought. Wow, I can barely even feel my laptop on my lap. The padding is so comfortable, and seems to make my laptop "float". I truly think it's made it feel lighter on my lap. No more having to balance my laptop by it's edges on my knees so air can get through. I can sit comfortably and still be assured that my laptop won't overheat.
Very impressed Logitech. Very impressed!
Thanks so much for allowing me to do a review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Speaker Lapdesk N700
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa
from SA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Superb comfort while enjoying great entertainment!

Date:15 February 2011
The Lapdesk N700 arrived via courier, signature needed, and packed well. I opened the box to find the following:
* Lapdesk
* User Documentation
* x2 Rubber Laptop Pads
No software! Fantastic, a product I can plug straight in (via USB) and nothing to install! A huge plus there already.
Item was easy to unpack, and I got it up and working within minutes. There are two foldable laptop holders to hold the laptop on an angle, flip them up, sit the laptop on, plug in the USB. That's it! When you don't have the USB plugged in theres a handy USB holder it sits in. Now what do I do with the 2 rubber pads? I had no idea! So I had a quick look at the user documentation. It's to prop the laptop up to allow more airflow. Just press them into the grooves on the top of the Lapdesk. Now that make sense!
I found the user manual to be nice and brief, and very easy to follow. I don't like to read manuals, so this suited me perfectly!
There is an on/off button located on the right, as well as a volume control and mute button. It's alot easier to use them than the laptop controls, especially while watching a movie. The mute button has a handy red LED light, indicating mute is on.
I found the lapdesk quite heavy (around 2kg), however when I sat it on my lap I didn't feel the weight. It evenly distributed the weight across my legs, and is super comfy. The padding is made from air-mesh fabric, allowing more airflow, you don't feel any heat at all. Speaking about heat or lack of, the fan is fantastic, it's very quiet, uses hardly any battery power, and kept my laptop and lap nice and cool.
Last, but not least....the speakers: Built-in stereo speakers, powered by USB. On each side of Lapdesk, and the front. Sound is crystal clear, and you get full rich stereo and bass sound. Loving it!
Overview
The Good: Soft air-mesh padded fabric, silent and cool fan, volume control buttons, fantastic speakers, nice viewing angle - Superb comfort while enjoying great entertainment!
Quick and easy setup for anyone, within minutes.
The Bad: A little heavy, weighing 2kg.
Final Thoughts: Highly Recommended! Will be using it everyday, absolutely love it.
Product Tester ID: LPT10253
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>