Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Speakers Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Laptop Speaker Z205

Laptop Speaker Z205

A clip-on, laptop-powered, USB stereo speaker that's as portable as your laptop&em;with better sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Laptop Speaker Z205
Review 1 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
reza
Expertise: Proficient User

For general use it'll do

Date:2 December 2011
I bought this set to listen to my training videos more efficiently and clearly. I approached this purchase with a bit of hesitation but I gonna tell you, the quality is rock solid. it's not bulky at all and it's very very easy to use.If I were to choose one pitfall I'd be the mounting clip which is a bit small for my 17inch laptop and falls of the display every time I want to relocate my laptop. From 1 to 10, I'd say 7 is a fair number for it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hugeoid
from Sydney
Expertise: Newbie

Use with android tablet

Date:29 October 2011
Just what I wanted for my Acer Iconia A500 android tablet. Unfortunately the USB connection only provides power. I couldn't find any app to route the sound to the speaker. But there is a 3.5mm jack for eg. MP3 players, and when I connected it to the tablet's headphone jack with a short 3.5 to 3.5 lead it worked a treat. Really impressive sound. On complete max volume there is a little distortion but really I wouldn't need it that high, the volume increase is significant. I'd just love to see an app for simpler android support.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aarent
from Darwin, NT
Expertise: Tech Savvy

You Get What You Pay For.

Date:10 October 2011
As the title says, its a very easy to use, easy to look at laptop speaker, it simply clips onto the top of your laptop screen or you can place it on the desk, the clip acts like a stand as well.
Its plug and play, the cable should suit most laptops.
There are three small flat buttons on the top volume down and up on the left and right and the power button in the middle.
Speaker sound is way above what you would get from normal laptop speakers, even some of the better sounding ones like Altec Lansing or JBL.
In my opinion most of the negative reviews for this product are made out of user error, example: the review where itunes does not appear loud but windows system sounds are, its possible that person is using windows 7 and his volume mixer is not correct, and the user that has a complaint about the back port location, i dont se an issue with it, unless u unclip the speaker mistaking the back cable as the rear clip end and apply pressure.
These speakers are fine for a laptop and i'm quiet happy with them.
I hope this review offers people help in deciding if they get frustrated with built in low quality sound.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bill
from Mid North Coast, NSW
Expertise: Proficient User

Redesign the port connection on the speaker

Date:9 March 2011
Great sound but it died an unnatural death within a month because the USB port connection on the speaker is too close to the mounting clip. It is too easy to bend the USB connection and break it off when unmounting the speaker. A redesign could easily place the USB connector on the side of the speaker and out of harm's way.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
G-Money
from San Francisco, CA
Expertise: Newbie

Simple and very efficient

Date:25 January 2011
I am not very tech savvy, but I was very surprised at the ease in which I put this speaker on with my laptop. Much of my music playlist is from You Tube, and it sounds great now on this speaker. It has a stereo quality to it. You probably can buy a more expensive set of speakers if you are looking for that so-called ultimate music experience, but for what I needed and the price of the speaker, it totally fit the bill! Thanks Logitech for my enhanced music enjoyment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Azraai
from Malaysia
Expertise: Tech Savvy

the perfect solution

Date:10 October 2010
i bought this Z205 to replace my mediocre netbook speakers.. was looking around for a portable yet decent quality USB speakers in terms of sound and built..
i guess i've finally found the perfect solution..
sound is crystal clear, with a touch of mid-bass.. works well with Win7 Ultimate..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MJfromNY

Not working correctly

Date:22 June 2010
This is not working well on my laptop. It plays some sound but not others. It won't play the itunes music, but will play the windows noises...which if I were to choose, would be the exact opposite of what I'm looking for. It crackles as well, which is annoying.
There are no drivers, FAQ's or even help in the support forum. I'm out of luck. Not a good purchase.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ray
from Montreal, Canada
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Incredible sound for the size !

Date:15 May 2010
Just picked these up this afternoon and I'm thrilled by the sound. Incredible! I will not be glued to my laptop any longer :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
theIrishman
from New York
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Gotta Love It

Date:31 March 2010
Perfect! Clear, crisp and loud for it's size, this little guy takes the cake when it comes to improving your laptop sound. I'm using Windows 7 64 bit. Plug n' play. No driver disk needed. Easy clip on, clip off. Nice storage pouch included. Shorter cord, usb power cuts down on clutter.Get it! You won't be sorry!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laptop Speaker Z205
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
koem

Z205

Date:3 March 2010
Logitech consider the users of a desktop systems with LCD monitor who has no space to place a loudspeaker system. So a bigger and more powerful than Z205 will be a great choice for them.
.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.