Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Keyboard + Mice Combos Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wireless Desktop MK710

Wireless Desktop MK710

Where comfort and productivity go hand-in-hand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wireless Desktop MK710
Review 1 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave
from Melbourne VIC, Australia
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: Less than a Week

Most Comfortable Keyboard and Mouse Combo Ever

Date:23 December 2013
Cushioned palm rest really makes typing a lot more comfortable
Low profile keys makes typing much easier
Ergonomic mouse with thumb scoop makes it more comfortable when using the mouse
Hyper fast scrolling makes it much easier to scroll down or up long webpages
The best desktop combo I have ever bought!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
seph
from Sydney NSW, Australia
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Length Of Use: More than a Year

Keyboard

Date:7 September 2013
The mouse is EXCELLENT and includes all the necessary buttons that you would use everyday. But the keyboard...I prefer my inferior school laptop because of its keyboard.The main problem is how the keys are placed. EVERY KEY GETS JAMMED WHEN ITS CORNERS ARE PRESSED. It is frustrating to press each key without looking at the screen, I cannot live with a keyboard that doesn't allow full user potential flexibility. I don't recommend it for you if you'd rather type fast and do mind the jamming of the key corners. I don't know how to fix this problem other than buy a new one.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julee
from Perth, WA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Good Buy

Date:11 December 2012
Keys are soft and comfortable to use. I like the layout of the keyboard. Good ergonomics.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knaidlach
from Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Proficient User

Excellent combo with a big BUT IF ONLY.......

Date:6 May 2012
I bought this combo on the advice of a friend. Easy to install, nice to use, good touch etc etc. I'm a touch typist and I use my computer for correspondence (lots).
I have an issue with this keyboard which is related to quality. The letters on the keyboard are not designed for loads of use. I purchased my first combo MK710 in late November 2011 and started using it mid Dec. By late January the lettering on the E key had worn out. I returned it to the retailer (in late Feb 2012) who was a little reluctant to exchange it but with some encouragement eventually did so. I've now been using the replacement keyboard for just on 2 months and find the lettering on the H key is worn out. I make the assumption by the time 12 months is up most of the keys will have lost their lettering. Of course I can go back to the retailer (I have the docket) and have a confrontation regarding a further replacement but that's not going to solve the quality problem.
This is an ongoing problem with keyboards of all brands and I've replaced probably 6 keyboards due to the loss of lettering. They never break down, the letters just wear out. It's not a problem for me but if someone else wants to use the computer and isn't a touch typist they can't find the correct keys. Is quality a consideration that Logitech is interested in? I contacted the Support people and they unfortunately were unable to help me at all and there is no avenue to speak to a person with any authority who may be able to satisfy my concern or solve the poor lettering quality issue.
I am loathe to go and spend $180 to buy the K800 keyboard which has laser etched keys and is backlit; that's a lot of money plus I will need to spend more to get a good mouse. I would like some genuine support from Logitech which seems to be in short supply.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By LALA8 May 2012
knaidlach buzz our Support Team on 1800 025 544. Although you mentioned you've had this problem with keyboards of all brands so there may not be a solution for it perhaps. We have a number of people that have written reviews and used their keyboards for years without drama. We actually use an MK710 in our Marketing Office with multiple people who have shared it for the last 2 years with no letters being rubbed off.
Review 5 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Coops
from Ballarat, Vic
Expertise: Tech Savvy

It Just Works

Date:19 April 2012
Logitech, as usual has produced another product that just works. Plug it in and use it. No messing around fiddling with software installs, reboots to recognise the equipment, it just works - first time.
Good value for money and reliable.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scream
from Newcastle, NSW
Expertise: Proficient User

Fantastic Chance buy

Date:15 November 2011
This set is fantasic, the soft grip on the keyboard makes it really comfortable and the keys are quiet and soft to touch without being overly sensitive. The mouse has the perfect number of extra buttons for me and has a nice weight without being too heavy.
I my computer a lot for tafe, internet and documentation. Also thinking I may be more willing to play games on my computer now since they keyboard doesn't seem to aggrevate my existing RSI injury which I sustained from typing.
Also, the wireless capabilities has made completing class work a lot easier, since i usually have my laptop on the computer desk and I cradle the keyboard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
aarick

Great Mouse. Keyboard is horrid!

Date:12 November 2011
The marathon mouse included with this combo is awesome. It has all the features you need in a mouse: long battery life, hyper-scroll, laser tracking and lots of additional buttons. However, the let down in this combo will have to be the keyboard. Whoever in the design team that decided to use laptop keys for a desktop keyboard should be fired. I hate typing on a laptop and since I bought this, I hate typing on my desktop now too. If you are not a touch typist, it makes it especially difficult to hit the right key without looking at the keyboard. I have a wave desktop keyboard at home and never have any issue typing with it.I didn't buy the Wave Desktop this time as Logitech stop selling the Wave Desktop Pro version in Australia, but only the standard wave desktop. Now I wish I bought the standard wave desktop combo for use at work as this keyboard is so frustrating to use. Logitech, please bring back the Wave Desktop Pro combo to Australia as that is the best combo you ever release.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia12 December 2011
Hi aarick, thanks for your feedback. Check out the MK550;http://www.logitech.com/en-au/keyboards/keyboard-mice-combos/devices/7306
Review 8 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yeshua
from NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

The Perfect Match

Date:5 October 2011
This is the best combo keyboard and mice pack i have ever bought. They are both very comfortable and are a good weight. The mouse has very fine sensitivity which allows for end gaming requirements, even with-out using a mouse pad. High Speed Receiver for both mouse and keyboard which is always handy, as well as a very good range. Standard battery lifetime is high: keyboard 2 years and counting, and they still say they are full. Mouse lasts for one year, though that is with using it for 6-12 hours/per day. In my personal opinion there is no need to worry about finding another product, this one is a sure winner.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike T
from Newcastle, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Keyboard Lets the Combo Down

Date:4 August 2011
I've already praised the marathon mouse in a separate review but just wanted to make note of a few annoying features of the keyboard that let the combo down.
1) The keyboard's piano black finish is extremely difficult to keep clean. Even using a microfibre cloth does not restore the shiny sections to their original state.
2) The hotkeys tend to malfunction alot e.g. windows key will get stuck down frequently, as will the tab key. This could be a problem with my keyboard only but I would imagine this is something that is more consistent with the firmware (which I have the latest)
3) The travel on the keys is far too short for a dome-style keyboard (as opposed to a scissor-switch or mechanical-switch keyboard). I have used Razer mechanical and dome-style keyboards and find them to be much more comfortable to type on.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia25 August 2011
Hi Mike, if you are having difficulties with buttons getting stuck, please contact our Support team by going to logitech.com (button at top of page) and you can chat to them via phone, e-mail or our forums to have that looked at for you.
Review 10 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10272
from Munno Para West, SA
Expertise: Tech Savvy

For business, family, gaming and media

Date:30 July 2011
Unboxing and Installation
Opening the box, everything was well packaged and secure with no annoying polystyrene; being mainly cardboard means that the box is easily recyclable.
You are then presented with the MK700 Keyboard, M705 Mouse, a tiny Logitech Unifying USB receiver, A USB extender cable, Duracell Batteries, SetPoint Software (for Windows XP/Vista and 7) on CD and the instruction booklet in various languages.
I was impressed that they included the USB extender cable and although we have no need for it, it could come in very handy for people that have difficulty plugging in such a tiny device into their USB port due to sightedness or dexterity problems.
After unpacking, we simply plugged the Unifying Receiver into a spare USB port and the devices worked instantly (on both Windows XP and Ubuntu Linux) although not all extra buttons on the devices will work until the software has been installed as to configure them – but more on that further down.
M705 Mouse
What an impressive bit of kit! This is the most advanced pointing device we have ever used (3 button and a scroll wheel is all we have ever needed until now).
The features of this device are amazing and further enhanced once you make use of the SetPoint software (again – further info below).
To start with, the contour and design is comfortable to use although our 4 year old daughter finds it a little cumbersome – bearing in mind that this has been designed for business usage and the semi-pro gamer – tiny (as in child) hands will find its design a little bit ergonomically restrictive.
If you are left handed (which none of our family are), you will find this design uncomfortable – but you can not please all of the people all of the time (a lot of other Logitech Mice have symmetrical designs that will feel comfortable in either the left or right hand – we also own a few Logitech cordless optical mice with such a design).
The accuracy of the MK705 mouse has been further enhanced by replacing the optical sensor with a Class 1 Laser and although non lethal, it should be noted (according to instructions) that you should not attempt to magnify its intensity with the use of glasses, microscopes and other lenses… please keep this device for its intended use.
The Performance Laser however, gives you the freedom in using the device on most surfaces (your leg, clothing, settee) but I did not test on glass – so if it has dark field capabilities – I do not know – but would think glass is not intended for this device to be used on.
You can go further than just using standard left, right and centre click buttons as another 3 have been included which will require the installation of the SetPoint software for full usage.
Back and Forward buttons allow you to flip between web pages and an Application Switch button acts like ALT+TAB on steroids!
On to the centre scroll wheel/button – you would think that there would be nothing new with a design that has been used in mice since 1993 but the M705 has literally re-invented the wheel!
Not only can you scroll up and down and centre click in the usual manor but also scroll left and right – 4 axis of movement feels natural, it simply works for you as opposed to you working with it – but thats not all…
The MicroGear precision scroll wheel has a nice weighted feel which acts like a fly-wheel and for good reason – just flick the scroll toggle and the wheels behaviour can be changed from click-to-click precision scrolling to hyper fast ‘free wheeling’ scrolling.
Finally we get around to mentioning they have included an ‘on/off’ switch and an ‘LED’ battery level indicator (you can also check the battery levels using the SetPoint software). When you switch the mouse on, the LED will glow green for 10 seconds to tell you the batteries are good but will flash red if the level is below 10%.
As the mouse is low powered (Mouse and Keyboard both have auto sleep modes to extend battery life), the batteries can last for up to 3 years – so why include an on/off switch? Well, opening the battery compartment provides a clue – there is a space to store the USB Unifying receiver which means that if you are a gamer who attends the occasional LAN party or an office worker who frequently changes work stations, you can simply take it with you!
MK700 Keyboard
If comfort and design is important for mice, then equally it is important for a keyboard - especially if you (like myself) use one for at least 8 hours a day and as such, the MK700 is nicely contoured with a cushioned palm rest which feels soft but also durable enough to withstand years of wear and tear.
The angle of your keyboard is also a very important thing to consider, some prefer to use them flat while others like to work with the keyboard at an angle so the MK700 actually comes with 4 legs, one pair provide an angle of 4 degrees and another pair provide an angle of 8 degrees. Although the legs look small, they appear to be made of a high strength plastic so as to not break or snap off.
The keys are low profile and concave (Logitech ‘Incurve’ keys) but also have enough travel which feels more natural than keyboards you find on laptops and other low profile keyboards on the market and are also closely spaced which will reduce the junk and dust gathering inside (the MK700 also claims to be spill resistant and although it is something I will not purposefully test, Logitech claims it has been tested with a 60ml spill under limited conditions).
The mechanism behind each key feels solidly responsive on every stroke with no wobble side to side (some keyboards do tend to feel like the keys are balancing on springs) and also they have included the bumps on the F and J keys in the home row to assist with touch typing which (often too discreet or omitted from other keyboards) have been slightly exaggerated which will possibly also benefit visually impaired users.
The standard US-104 key layout includes the numeric keypad, cursor and function keys spaced apart in the usual way and not compacted to fit on a smaller computer desk makes it perfect for an office environment.
I have a personal pet hate for two keys that are standard on every keyboard – the Caps Lock and the Windows key will likely always be included by manufacturers and I eventually would like to see a keyboard with no Caps Lock and the Windows logo being changed to something more suitable (like a house to indicate ‘home’ or similar) for people that use Mac or Linux.
Keys, keys and more keys – placed neatly between the right ALT and CTRL keys sits a FN key which enhances the standard Function keys – simply hold FN and press a F-key to launch applications, zoom, display menu’s and even put your computer in sleep mode but again this requires SetPoint to be installed.
Eject key – wow, they have gone all out – eject your CD-ROM/DVD/BluRay from your keyboard – unfortunately you still have to bend down to remove the disc from the drive (also requires SetPoint)!
Calculator button – conveniently placed above the numeric keypad is a key to instantly open your calculator application which is a real time-saver when you want to do a quick calculation for your Tax refunds.
Across the top of the keyboard you will find Media keys located either side of a central LCD display that enables you to skip playback of media back and forward, pause and play as well as control volume (louder, quieter and mute) which can also be useful if you use your PC for presentation of media or as a HTPC.
The LCD display shows Battery, Caps Lock, FN, Scroll Lock, Num Lock and Mute status but it is not backlit possibly due to enhancing battery life. This sets the finishing touch to the overall look and looks great but is something I would hardly use unless checking the battery status.
As with the mouse, the keyboard comes with an on/off switch and although it also has a sleep mode when not in use – switching it off is handy for those occasions when you are moving from one workstation to another or going to a LAN party.
SetPoint Software
Although the software is great, easy to install and allows for total customisation of all your buttons and keys, the only downside is that it is for Windows only. As I am not a Mac user, I was able to test on Ubuntu Linux and was glad that practically everything worked (including volume controls/mute, Power Off and calculator).
Conclusion
Although we own several Logitech keyboards and mice, we were very impressed by the professional feel of this keyboard and mouse combo.
The durability of this particular combo is definitely a win given it is being used not only by established geeks, but an ickle geekette who is continually providing challenges for mummy and daddy in rectifying the results of her exploration when using the computer.
Logitech have certainly managed to deliver on all priorities when it comes to purchasing gadgets with this particular Wireless Desktop Combo.
More than happy to give it a 8.5/10.
Full review with photos also on my blog:
http://martin.ind-web.com/2011/07/30/logitech-mk710-wireless-desktop-keyboard-and-mouse/
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LPT10911
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

An amazing gadget , amazing brand, amazing price

Date:27 July 2011
What i ABSOLUTELY loved about this combo was the size of the unifying receiver. So tiny yet so accurate. I have a laptop, wireless printer, wireless internet all going on in the same room yet i didn't notice any interference at all. The bonus batteries were a nice touch to the whole package.
Installation was a breeze and customising was so easy. The mouse had 9 buttons in total which to me seemed really useful especially the scroll feature. Very smooth glide and comfortable to run. To be extra extra picky i'd say maybe if the size was just slight bigger maybe about 1mm. Not to forget the other feature i really like was the storage space for the unifying receiver underneath the mouse.
The keyboard is all about comfort and design. The design feels so top of the range. I especially love the rubber palm rest. Also has a very useful monochrome display indicating battery life. Other good feature was the LED light on the caps lock button. My old keyboard didn't have this and it was very frustrating when i didn't know whether caps was on or off.
I'd reccomend this combo to anyone and everyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT12152
from ACT
Expertise: Tech Savvy

High quality performance with a great price tag!

Date:20 July 2011
I have been using Logitech products for a few years now and have not yet experienced an item that has let me down. When Logitech gave me the opportunity to test one of there products I decided I would do it properly, I didn’t want to sound like a fanboy who was reaching out for more free goodies. I have found it very hard to find anything I don’t like about the MK710 Wireless keyboard and mouse. I am currently using it at work on a daily basis and found it extremely easy to set up and get started, I plugged the tiny usb receiver into my laptop and it stays there as I can easily put the laptop into a bag and transport it without fear of knocking the slimline receiver. What I didn’t actually know about these receivers is that they are able to be used with any compatible wireless Logitech device. This is great as my laptop only has a few usb ports.
At home on my gaming rig I use an MX revolution mouse and a G15 gaming keyboard. My initial expectations were that for the $100 pricetag the MK710 would be no where near as outstanding as my home combination which cost nearly 3 times as much. To my surprise the MK710 really holds its own. The Keyboard feels amazing to type on and the keys are extremely quiet. For such a relatively cheap keyboard it feels like I have splurged and spent a lot of money on a high quality keyboard.
The mouse is amazing ergonomic and although it has one less scroll wheel then the mx revolution the only thing i could find wrong with this mouse was the scroll wheel. Initially it felt like it was either to sensitive or in some windows not sensitive enough. In all honesty I haven’t played with the settings so that’s probably user error. The little mouse redeemed itself when I discovered its secret button! That’s right just when I thought this bad boy couldn’t get any better for its price I discovered that if you push down on the thumb rest its another button! Its default is set to application switch which is basically an alt tab. With setpoint (another great piece of Logitech software) you can set it to anything, Even a keybind. This is great for gaming. It gives the mouse an awesome 8 useable button, Which is very rare for anything under $100. The battery life claims to be three years. I haven’t turned either of them off yet and it hasn’t budged so as far as I can tell that’s going fine. There isn’t much more that I can say other then if you are looking for an extremely reliable, portable and funky looking keyboard and mouse combination but don’t want to empty your wallet then go for this. The Mk710 would be great for everyday use or even hardcore gaming. The low profile keys can take a little bit of time to get used to but once familiar they feel great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gadgetguy
from sydney
Expertise: Tech Savvy

awesome buy

Date:14 June 2011
the best i have ever bought. I researched and visited over 20 stores and used about 70 different keyboards intensively and this combo definately outdid them all. available at most comuter shops for $69 it far exceeded many of the expensive gaming computers. write ups on pc world cnet just to name a couple saif the same thing.12 programmable f keys control all media from keyboard screen long battery life good range soft keys that are quiet to tap.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chaos

Best Ever

Date:13 June 2011
After other makes this one rates the top,it is so easy to use,
not tried to one place as can put away when not using & although I had had the mouse/keyboard combo for several months because they run from small USB charger I don't have to change batteries every two weeks as before with other cordless ones
I have never had a single bad product from Logitech & now own several
Great all round service & products WELL DONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustSal
from Australia
Expertise: Proficient User

Gaming experience is #RAD

Date:13 June 2011
I picked this product up more so for the mouse. The keyboard is great to use. The mouse is amazing. As a gamer I can highly recommend this keyboard and mouse package. The mouse is uber sensitive, making gaming a joy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Netbear
from Braybrook, Victoria
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awsome Product

Date:17 May 2011
To anyone considering this product:
It is a wonderful package, with very easy, comfortable keyboard and mouse. The keyboard is soft, with built in a lot of easy access keys. A small screen on the top keep you informed of which functions are on. They even have a key to eject the DVD drive (too bad if you use a netbook). the mouse is superb with wonderful scrolling you can easily going through a lengthy documents, great for "skimming". I would recommend this to everyone. Don't think, you will not regret to get this package.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stevez
from Melbourne, Victoria
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Nice Keyboard/Mouse Combo from Logitech

Date:27 April 2011
My sister was after a new keyboard/mouse combo early last year. After some research, I recommended the Logitech MK700. She was happy with it then, and a year later is still happy with it. I assist with her computer problems, so I have used it a bit and was equally impressed.
So I decided to update my existing combo (Logitech MX700 Duo) which still performs well and which I will retain as a spare. I like the smaller form factor of the MK set, compared to my existing MX Duo. After using it for a couple of weeks now, I feel I can give an opinion on what I like and what I'm not so keen on. But keep in mind that each user will have individual requirements from their peripherals, so there is not "one size fits all" and people should not be put off by perceived negatives given out by one user.
THE KEYBOARD -
Elegant design, comfy wrist rest. Nice amount of "glossy" plastic which will mean cleaning off the finger marks, but that is to be expected.
Being smaller form factor, keys are closer together, so it won't suit those with larger hands and fingers (typo's)!
My MX Duo has switchable function keys using an "F Lock". This switches the functionality between the normal function set and the secondary function assignment set. This keyboard has a function button which has to be pressed to access the secondary function. Just a different way of doing the same thing.
Smaller function keys and media buttons than my MX Duo. My Duo has a volume wheel, whereas this one has two separate buttons for volume. I prefer the wheel.
I like the LCD level indicators on the top of the keyboard. Functional and non-intrusive.
And then there's the usual ability to assign keys using the Logitech Setpoint software.
Can't attest to the longevity of battery life yet, but the on/off switch should mean there is longer life.
THE MARATHON MOUSE -
I thought it would be a bit larger; more like the mouse with the MK700. I have preferred the feel of a mouse that sits in my palm. This mouse is smaller and sits in my fingers, forward of my palm. However, it is still nicely contoured and it may just be a matter of time to get used to it.
Build quality feels average; a bit on the "plastic" side. However, it still has an attractive look. The type of plastic used in construction contributes to the lightness of the mouse and assists with portability and ease of movement. The mouse can also operate with one or two batteries, impacting on the weight.
Precision and tracking seems fine for a mouse of this class. The Setpoint software allows adjustment to suit the preferences of the user.
The thumb buttons on the left feel like they are in the right place for me. The right-click button seems to need less pressure than the left-click. Sometimes I can right-click in error just while resting my finger a bit too heavily. The clicks are also rather audible; especially the left-click, so it is a bit intrusive but one gets used to it.
The scroll wheel seems a bit strange when clicking it. The click often has two "click" levels, depending on the amount of pressure employed. The first click with slight pressure does nothing. The second click with more pressure results in the assigned function. However, the first light-pressure click doesn't always seem to occur. Also, the function assigned to it doesn't always work. I have determined that when it is not working, one needs to reset it by clicking on the left or right-click buttons. Then the function will work again. The mouse cursor also tracks slightly down and to the right when using the button function on the scroll wheel. Like I said, seems rather odd.
The on/off button on the bottom is also a good feature to conserve battery usage.
I think I will probably grow to like the mouse, but it might just take a bit of getting used to.
Overall, for the quality and the price-point, I consider it a good purchase and recommend a look if you are in the market for a new combo set.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BIG Jo
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Awsome

Date:23 April 2011
i bought this set when i purchased my DV7 and i havnt looked back...for the price it is a really good quality combo n feels gr8 when i use it...its the envy of my mates n i would definately recommend this to any one :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deb3571
from Geelong, VIC
Expertise: Proficient User

Great buy

Date:21 April 2011
Love it, quite simple really. Great features, battery life if brilliant. Awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wireless Desktop MK710
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aD
from Sydney
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Looks great, terrible to live with.

Date:27 March 2011
The mouse is completely awesome, and very addictive. A lot of functions can be added to it, and makes life a joy.
The keyboard had great features but is a complete letdown. Everything was great, but typing with it is awful. The keys tend to jam on down stroke and the ductile feedback is not so good, plus the resistance is not consistent. Because of this there is constantly typos while typing. Any one who has any amount of writing to do, will be annoyed. Otherwise this was a good quiet keyboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Logitech:By Logitech AustraliaLogitech Australia3 April 2011
Hi aD
Sounds like you may have a defective product as we have had lots of great feedback about the MK710 and lots of us use it in the office without the same problems you are describing.

Please contact generalaus@logitech.com so that we can help sort out another keyboard for you as all our products have a replacement warranty and this doesn't seem to be working properly from what you have written
1 2 Next>>