Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Keyboards Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800

Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800

The sleek, comfortable keyboard that delivers a brilliant typing experience&em;day or night.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Review 1 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
equinox23
from Brisbane
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Extremely happy purchase

Date:2 February 2013
Hello all,
I have now owned this keyboard for about 12 months, its wireless, illuminated (and picks up if you are near it), comes with easily rechargeable batteries and rarely needs recharging, what more can I say, this thing is the best keyboard I have ever owned.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philb
from Melbourne, Vic
Expertise: Tech Savvy

satisfied k800 user

Date:15 September 2011
Recently bought a k800 wireless illuminated keyboard and found logitech has put a lot of thought into the design. They keys are soft to touch, not too noisy and feel like pillows on your fingers, the back lit illumination is soft and cancels when the keyboard is not in use to save power but comes back when your hand is near. And to this the Unifying receiver which i have also connected my mouse (m235) and they work seamlessly. The battery life is phenomenal, i personally expected this thing to drink through the power and i would always have it on charge, i have only charged it once and this is my 7th day of continual use. Furthermore if by some chance the rechargeable battery does die nothing special is needed as logitech has simply used 2 AA sized rechargeable batteries for this unit. Nothing fancy which needs to be ordered and would cost you through the roof. All in all, very satisfied and being a logitech i know will this keyboard will be around for years to come.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matt Toovey
from Sydney
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Sleek, Stylish and amazingly comfortable

Date:27 July 2011
I've had more Logitech Keyboards in my life than I can count and for general use, this one takes the cake.
The first thing I got when I opened it up was just how thin and sleek it is. You really don't get the impression of it from the pictures. The keys are easy to press, with just the right amount of feedback.
Backlighting makes this a top choice for anyone who's up late, in a dark room gaming or studying. It's surprising how much you miss them when you don't have it.
Normally around the pricepoint of this and the corded version, the keyboards are average but this feels a lot better than you would expect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garyh
from Geelong
Expertise: Proficient User

Very, very satisfying

Date:14 April 2011
I should hope that the people who have written marginal/negative reviews on this product are proficient 100-120wpm touch typists who learnt on IBM Selectric typewriters and to whom in the modern age, the lowest profile and keyboard with sensitive keys is the bees' knees for speed accuracy. Naturally, there is no keyboard for the "one size/purpose fits all" mantra. Though retired from Hansard, I remain very fast, preferring low ambient illumination and spot-lit copy to type from. This keyboard is excellent for its illumination but excels especially with the key design that favours speed and surety of hits. It's quite probably the most satisfying (and eyecatching!) keyboard that I've had — and I have owned many. Thanks Logitech! :-)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
elbeasto
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Not Bad but...

Date:2 March 2011
I bought the K800 after owning and using the Logitech Illuminated keyboard which I was very happy with, I only bought the K800 because the legs on the last one broke off (my fault - accident).
On the whole the Logitech K800 is a pretty decent keyboard:
Pros:
Unifying technology, I can run my Logitech M950 mouse and the K800 keyboard using one USB port.
The upward curve of the base, I like the angle and ergonomics here.
It's Illuminated! One of the main reasons I bought this and the Logitech Illuminated.
Recharging via the USB ports.
Flat & soft keystrokes, another big reason for my keyboard choice/s.
An on off switch.
Cons:
Quality, it just feels a little too cheap for the price. Rattle, rattle, rattle.
There is no option to have keys lit all the time. Automatically adjusting to the ambient light (which it does now), means that this shouldn't affect battery life too much if it was in fact an option.
I just preferred the keys on my Logitech Illuminated keyboard, they weren't rounded and they didn't have the roughish texture that the K800 has. It also didn't rattle as much, it had the same soft keystrokes but with a better quality & more solid feel.
Price.
I wouldn't say avoid this keyboard but I would recommend others before it.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Las Vegas
from Las Vegas, NV
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Dream Come True

Date:28 October 2010
Wonderful keyboard, great feel, looks great. Looks better when used at night. Works great as a gaming keyboard, can change to your own AA batteries if you wish, batteries last days of 24 hr use, recharges in 1 1/2- 3 hours if the keyboard is off. This keyboard is a great value at $100.00 and is far superior to the only other illuminated keyboard (which costs $300.00 and is a peice of junk) Has real F Keys and ESC key (not pads), caps lock has LED indicator. Works rigtht out of the box . When I got my new ultra powerful gaming computer I dreamed of an illuminated wireless keyboard of high quality and now my dream has come true. I read a review which says the keyboard is flimsy; that is not true. The best keyboard I have ever seen and am very very pleased to be living my dream. Buy it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sappersix
from Bay Area, California
Expertise: Tech Savvy

A fantastic keyboard

Date:24 October 2010
My entire family loves the K800.
It is easy to setup, not needing any software, though Logitech Setpoint is worth the install, allowing customization of the keyboard.
The keyboard feel took us some time to get used to it and I would encourage anyone trying this keyboard to give it some time. I went from initial optimism about the key feel to a low point thinking the keyboard was too soft (after about a week of use). Then, after sticking with it for another week, I now really like the feel. I feel like I can type faster because the keys are so responsive and accurate and have a gentle feel to them. Now when I type on more traditional keyboards and feel like I have absolutely slam the keys down.
As someone else mentioned, the battery life is short (7-10 days), but I have not found this a problem; after all, it is a desktop keyboard. I just tuck the supplied charging cable under my monitor stand and when the batteries run low, I plug it in for a few hours... voila.
The reduced clutter from wireless, the feel, the backlight make this an ideal keyboard for our family.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MrGrim

Not a wireless version of the corded illuminated

Date:15 October 2010
This was a most disappointing experience. I've always loved logitech products, and the corded illuminated keyboard was the best they ever made. When a wireless illuminated keyboard was announced I was thrilled.
However, when I finally had the chance to use one, I discovered this is nothing like the original. The keys are rubbery, there's no solid click to a key press like on the original, and the entire typing action feels spongy and mushy. If you're a corded illuminated keyboard user looking to go wireless then this is not what you're looking for.
I strongly hope Logitech will introduce a true wireless version of the corded illuminated. Until then, steer clear of this one.
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
misterca
Expertise: Tech Savvy

K800 Keyboard

Date:4 October 2010
Great keyboard for someone who works in a dim office, especially as you get up in the years and your eye sight in dim light is not as clear as it used to be.
Keyboard is slim and comfortable, much more comfortable than my old wireless. I usually work it in my lap with my feet propped; being far-sighted the lighted keys are great.
Charging is not something I'm used to as my old keyboard (Logitech) never seemed to wear out. Easy fix: Just plug it in once in awhile and forget about it.
Speed - great (distance = 4 feet)
Glitches - none yet
Keys - Quite and smooth
Dimming feature – Love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AGLBOX

Nice keyboard but very short battery life

Date:29 September 2010
The keyboard looks and feels just right, but battery life of up to 10 days... that's just way too short! Other wireless keyboards from both Logitech and other companies have battery lives ranging from 1 to 3 years. By having to recharge the keyboard at least once every 10 days (even if you do not use the illuminated backlight option), I'm asking myself if my keyboard is working for me or if I'm working for my keyboard. If the latter is the case, I think I'll have to send Logitech an invoice for my time...
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KeyRat

Finally, proper, great, keyboard...

Date:29 September 2010
Just received this keyboard about 30 minutes ago.
Good:
Key layout - finally, a keyboard with all the proper keys in their proper place with no funky layouts for arrow keys, ins/home/pgup/pgdn etc...
Function keys have the F# on top and are also backlit, unlike the previous corded version.
Convenient Calculator quick key.
Great key action and not too loud.
5 levels of backlighting including all the way off
On/Off conveniently located on top of keyboard for easy access as opposed to having to flip the keyboard over.
Universal receiver support so you can use the same receiver for your mouse and keyboard.
Good solid feel and weight
Bad (but really minor):
Suprisingly (and somewhat ironically given the fully backlit nature of the keyboard), while there is an indicator light for Caps Lock, there are no indicators lights for Num Lock or Scroll Lock
FN activation key located at bottom right between the Alt and Ctrl keys takes place of the context menu key
Must run Unifying software to add keyboard to unified receiver if you already have one for your mouse. In other words, the receiver doesn't just pick up the keyboard when you turn it on.
Bit pricey.
Could use two levels of feet underneath. The ones that are on it are fine but an additional, higher set would be nice.
All in all though, fantastic keyboard! Once prices come down, I'll probably buy a few more for other systems and just to stockpile since I love the layout and features.
Nice job Logitech!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wireless Illuminated Keyboard K800
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nemock
from Fargo, ND
Expertise: Proficient User

Great Wireless Keyboard Solution

Date:16 September 2010
This keyboard is a great keyboard for someone that often gets wires all tangled up in a mess. For myself, I type while leaning in my chair with my feet up on a foot rest, and the keyboard sits in my lap. For users like myself, this keyboard is perfect.
Pros:
-Wireless
-Illumination is bright when needed
-Good battery life
-Lightweight
-Really easy to use
-Great feel when typing
-Can type while charging
-Proximity activated back lighting
Cons
-Fairly high priced for a non-gaming keyboard
-Proximity sensor could be a bit more sensitive
-Needs to eventually be plugged in (why can't batteries last forever?)
Overall this is a great keyboard. I am very pleased with the battery life (at least 3 days of heavy use per charge, haven't drained it down to nothing yet though.) The illumination is just as bright as the Illuminated keyboard (I also have 2 of those) so I am very pleased with this product.
If you are in the market for a wireless keyboard, this is a great solution.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.