Printer
Logitech Ratings and Reviews
Logitech Product Details
Lapdesks + Cooling Pads Details or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Speaker Lapdesk N550

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Logitech.

Speaker Lapdesk N550

Big-time sound and comfort for your small screen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Review 1 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10366
from Brisbane, QLD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Excellent usability, comfort and value for money

Date:14 May 2011
Logitech Australia Product Tester - LPT10366
I tried to find faults with this product, but all I found were minor issues that feel like nitpicking.
I'll get right to the nuts and bolts of actually using the product first and then cover packaging and documentation further down.
Functionality:
The N550 does exactly what it says on the can. It also does it well. Too well in fact; I let my mother in law use it for a while and now I have no hope of getting it back.
The sound is understandably limited by the size of the speakers, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's a nice compromise between good sound and battery drain, considering that the speakers are USB powered. The audio control buttons at the right are very useful and positioned in the perfect spot.
The lapdesk is also very comfortable to use in just about any location. It's light and easy to move around, and remains comfortable with extended use. I have read that models like the N700 offer more incline, but I would probably only notice that if I compared them side by side.
This product is also very sturdy. I can imagine dropping it or tossing it around with no damage. I don't think I'll test that though.
The N550 has two raised rubber ridges that keep the computer from sliding around, which work quite well. The computer stays in place when you carry the lapdesk around or tilt it by leaning over to reach for something. My only suggestion with these is perhaps they could be a little taller to increase the space between the computer and the lapdesk. The N550 has no fan, and heat can build up during heavy use. Our Dell Inspiron Mini did overheat once on a warm day.
Packaging:
The first thing I noticed about the N550 was its cool packaging. Aside from the usual Logitech branding and features / benefits blurb, the end of the box is cut away and only part of the lapdesk is visible through a clear plastic molded inner box.
This is a small thing that many people might not notice or care about. But being a designer myself, I thought that it was done well. It's nice to see the actual physical product when you're holding the box in your hand, and this went a step further by giving a little sneak peek of just part of it while avoiding boring and cliche simple "window pane" openings.
Unpacking the N550 was a breeze, and I mention this because some products make it an annoying, frustrating mission involving fears of damaging the product simply by trying to open the package. The lapdesk slid out easily, yet the packaging still felt solid and secure.
Documentation:
The manual / docs were sparse, but that's expected with a product as simple as this :) One thing I liked was the simple but very clear pictorials that made it totally easy to understand everything.
One thing I wasn't a big fan of though was the size of the text in the manual and support docs. I can imagine this product being very well suited to older users who may have difficulty reading small print, and this print is very small.
Conclusion:
Considering the price, it's a winner. The N550 takes tiny netbooks that just don't want to sit on your lap comfortably and turns them into something easy and comfortable to use for hours. Just don't forget to get up and move around periodically!
Pros:
- Easy to unpack and start using immediately
- Good sound
- Excellent audio control usability
- Extremely comfortable
- Sturdy and secure
Cons:
- Tiny text in parts of documentation
- Not quite enough space for heat dissipation
I would easily recommend the N550 to anyone who wants comfort and usability while still retaining portability and low cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10455
from Adelaide,S.A.
Expertise: Proficient User

The Logitech N550 Lapdesk

Date:5 May 2011
Hi I’m Logitech Test team member No LPT10455.
Thank you so much Logitech I was lucky enough to be a Logitech N550 Lapdesk tester and was so excited to try it out for myself. As always the Logitech N550 packaging was great. I could see what the lapdesk was like and could easily read all the information on the box.
It was really hard not to compare the N550, with the N700 I already have and both have their pro’s & con’s. But the Logitech N550 lapdesk was the perfect size for my VAIO W Series Billabong Mini Laptop, whereas my mini Laptop floats on my N700.
The Logitech N550 lapdesk is really easy to use, just plug it in and Bob’s your uncle. There was no need for me to manually download the drivers it works straight away, no problems at all.
I found the padding on the N550 a fair bit firmer than the N700, which feels more comfortable on my lap but the N550 sits more securely on my lap.
The Logitech N550 lapdesk speakers produce pretty good quality sound. I listen to music a fair bit and the speakers had no distortion when I pumped up the volume, a bonus for me.
Another thing I really liked on the N550 lapdesk was the rubber strip around the one edge of the 2 speakers, it helped with holding my laptop in place. Whereas on the N700 ladesk, the little rubber stoppers need to be put in manually and are easily lost if they become loose and come out. I also think the 2 clips that hold the laptop on were a great touch on the N550, just had to flip them up with one finger. Whereas, on the N700 I have to dig at the clips to get them up.
I think the only thing missing on the Logitech N550 lapdesk is the cooling fan. Don’t get me wrong I thoroughly enjoyed using the Logitech N550 lapdesk and its sound quality , but I like the cooling effect on the N700 lapdesk.
I recommend both the Logitech N550 lapdesk, which would be great for newer laptops that don’t heat up too much and the Logitech N700 Lapdesk to anyone that has an older laptop that needs cooling before their laptops fry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
filups

too small for a macbook

Date:21 March 2011
hey there guys i am a tester for n550 LPT10350
opening the box was an excitement but what i pulled out of the box for my needs would not be suitable, however i could see that it would be useful to people with the right size laptop. Firstly my laptop is a 17 inch mac book pro, so with that size it covers the two speakers by about 50- 60... percent, the sound that comes out of it is only about as much as my laptop is capable of producing. So for me it doesnt quite work. with that in mind it would be extremely useful to someone with a macbook air,netbook or any other smaller than 14 inch screen. I have now lent the product to my friend who has a small acer notebook and I will be reposting soon on his thoughts.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kirstym
from Lockyer Valley, QLD
Expertise: Newbie

Wow! LOVE IT

Date:5 March 2011
This product really surprised me, for a simple piece of equipement it really does a great job.
The packaging was simple but provided the ability for me to see the actual product.
Being plug and play it was incredibly easy to set up and ran first time, I didn't need to seek assistance with set up or even need to look at the simple instructions that came with the product.
The sound quality of the product was fantastic, so clear and crisp. I had previously used a set of external speakers on my laptop for better sound and volume but this product far outdoes the external speakers.
The heat absorption from the N550 was fabulous. Being a person who lives with her laptop on her lap I was surprise as after 6hours stright studying my lap was still cool and comfortable.
The padding of the unit is lightweight and moulds to your lap.
I would love to see the N550 come in other colours, to match the colours of the laptops available.
I have shown off my new product to all my friends and they are impressed. I am so convinced of it abilities I am confident to buy the N700 for our bigger laptop.
Would recommend the product to anyone with a laptop/netbook
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LPT10591
from Forest Lake, Qld
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Idea & Great Product

Date:28 February 2011
As i was provided this product for testing, i hadnt actually seen the product in store so my first impressions were of interest in the product and knowing it was from a reputable company helped, easily knowing the logitech colours and logo. It was packaged well, liking the fact you could see part of the product, a good way to get more interest but also get an idea on what the product is.
It was easy to install and i didnt bother to read the instructions because it was a simple plug and play, but glanced at them and found them to be good for someone needing them.
The lapdesk itself is a very pretty white (although worried about how dirty it could become), its light and a good size (although not sure if I would bring it with me everywhere).
It feels sturdy and well made, i like the two feet to stop the laptop sliding off the lapdesk.
When i first plugged it in, the volume or mute buttons didnt work but was ok the second and further times. It is really nice to have those buttons so handy.
The sound from the speakers is incredible for such a small product & it makes the laptop experience more immersive and enjoyable. I felt slight vibrations through the underside from the speakers but it wasn’t that bad. The underside is soft and comfortable and keeps your legs cool. One little thing i did like was how the usb cable can be attached to run along the back of the lapdesk, either left or right so there isnt this long cable hanging around.
I would mainly use this product in the loungeroom while on the couch (which is mainly where i use my laptop) although i could also use this on a desk which would lift the laptop up slightly in height and also still give me great sound.
I recommend this product to anyone who uses a laptop often and especially someone who uses it while sitting on the couch. Great idea and great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
waughzone
from Central Coast
Expertise: Proficient User

N550 Lapdesk (LPT10252)

Date:22 February 2011
Very impressive lapdesk, the clarity of the speakers is great, even when the kids have it maxed out.
Easy to set up and has made the laptop more portable with the stability of the lapdes.
Logitech have addressed my concerns about overheating with its subtle concave shape.
The only negative is having to fight the kids off as they love using it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jussie

Date:21 February 2011
LPT10216. Review of Lapdesk N550
When opening the packaging first impressions were that it was a nice looking, sturdy product that Logitech always seem to deliver. I didnt bother with reading the instructions before use and setup was very simple, just plug in the usb and its ready to use.
The sound that comes from the speakers is unbelieveable, no comparison to the standard laptop speakers. Clear and undistorted sound even at higher levels.
It comes with 3 buttons, volume up, volume down and mute and you can use the volume controls on your Laptop or the N550 to control the sound.
My Laptop is a little large for the N550 and does tend to push off the back sometimes but if I sit the laptop a little further towards the front so the feet rest over the front of the N550 I have no problems.
It makes using your Laptop on your lap a much more pleasant experience with no more hot legs and the Laptop seems to run cooler as well, I found the fan doesnt run as often or for as long.
I would recommend this to anyone thinking of purchasing one, you will not be disappointed. If you have a Laptop but do not think you would use one, give it a go you will be pleasantly surprised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DannyLPT10606
from Toowoomba, QLD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Logitech does it again! great product!

Date:19 February 2011
Owning a macbook Pro can be a great thing but a not so great thing is when it burns your legs when you're not at a desk. The N550 has made the experience a whole lot easier, the comfy fabric bottom makes it super easy to use anywhere.
First of all it's a beautiful looking bit of technology, Logitech has really kept the bar high.Although this model is only recommended to laptops with a screen size up to 14 inches my 15 inch mac fits perfectly. The flip up stops and the rubber on the deck hold the laptop from sliding down or side to side. The speakers replace the inbuilt ones with ease, just plug in the usb cord and enjoy the deeper, louder and higher quality sound. On a PC the output with switch automatically but sadly on a mac you will need to get into the sound options and switch it yourself. The bright side being the volume up, volume down and mute keys work exactly like the built in ones on the keyboard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10404
from Rowville, Melbourne, VIC
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Great Idea

Date:18 February 2011
The N550 is an awesome idea. Only today someone asked me why laptops get so hot on your lap!
The sound is very good - makes watching a movie more enjoyable than just using my laptop's speakers.
The clips at the front do a great job in holding the laptop in place without fear of it sliding off.
The buttons to control the volume directly on the pad are a very handy.
I must stress that the N550 states 14.1" laptops or smaller - which is absolutely correct. Will there be a version for 15" laptops?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10446
from Melbourne
Expertise: Proficient User

Sounds... like a great idea!

Date:16 February 2011
First impressions opening the box - great, the N550 Speaker Lapdesk looks modern and stylish. The weight feels good, not too heavy, not too light or flimsy.
Installation - just open the box and plug into your computer... that's it! I didn't even read the instructions (must have been having a male moment) and away I went! Anyone could use it this, even my old mother who is still coming to terms with technology and still trying to say digickle... I mean digital.
As someone who has been typing for 30 years I feel qualified to say that the N550 has the perfect angle for comfortable typing - one thing I don't like about laptops is getting that angle right for me. And talking about angle, it was perfect for laying propped up in bed in my caravan on the weekend watching a movie on my laptop, I felt like I had a little surround system in the van!
Operation, easy - volume up, volume down and mute.
Sound - it's great, doesn't sound tinny at all, rich true sounds.... but I have one problem, I'm going to have to buy new speakers for my desktop now because those old speakers sound terrible compare to the N550.
The N550 is great for either settling down comfortably or moving around the house while on your laptop... would be great for in the car too, hey just anywhere you use a laptop!
Overall - very happy and definately a product I would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10029
from Forest Lake, QLD
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Recommend to anyone with a laptop

Date:15 February 2011
LPT10029
Product: Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N550
Packaging was slim. Not too big. Product was displayed almost every side. The box is green and white which defines Logitech’s products. The product name is clearly displayed on the front of the box in large letters. Brief product information displayed on front of packaging. More detailed information on base of packaging.
When opening the packaging you receive the Lapdesk and instruction manual. Lapdesk was easy to remove from packaging. I was able to set up the Lapdesk without requiring the instructions. It is very straight forward and no complicated tasks. The Lapdesk is lightweight and feels comfortable on your lap. The shape of the Lapdesk is perfect for my laptop. I like the design and colour of the Lapdesk.
Straight from the packaging, I plugged the USB cable into my laptop and was able to start playing music straight away. No installation disks or downloads. The Lapdesk does not require a power point which makes it more mobile and more desirable. It is able to produce high quality sound at variable sound levels. It can get very loud which I find very useful especially when doing general house cleaning because I was able to move the Lapdesk anywhere I went. I like to move from room to room in my house and still be able to listen to music at the same time. The Lapdesk allows me to take my music with me wherever I go.
The Lapdesk is designed to make listening to music and watch videos on your laptop with high quality sound. The Lapdesk does this very well. My mother and grandmother would find the Lapdesk very useful as they travel often and are always complaining that they do not have anything useful for them to stabilize their laptops or to watch videos and listen to music other than headphones. With the Lapdesk they would be able to go for a drive with the family and be able to watch movies and listen to music.
Thank you
LPT10029
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT10119
from Melbourne, Victoria
Expertise: Proficient User

Blown away by the sound

Date:14 February 2011
Logitech Australia Product Tester: ID Number LPT10119
Product Tested: Logitech Speaker Lapdesk N550
The N550 speaker lapdesk comes well packaged in the signature white & green Logitech colours, the front of the box gives you a clear understanding of what this product is used for with pictures & text. The back of the box gives you a more detailed explanation of the features of the speaker lapdesk, this information is well layed out & easy to read & understand. Technical Specifications, What You Need, What's In The Box & Logitech Contact Information are listed on the bottom of the box, although the information is all there I did feel some of this information (such as Tech Specifications & What You Need) would of been better displayed on the back of the box where it won't be missed by consumers when looking to make a purchase. I also liked that on one side of the box it had a clear plastic area so you could clearly see the style of lapdesk.
Upon opening the box I was delighted to see that there was no need to assemble anything, everything is ready to enjoy.
After giving the instructions a quick once over read, setting up the N550 speaker lapdesk is extremely easy, the instructions are very clear & easy to understand using both text & pictures. After plugging in the usb plug my laptop instantly recognised the lapdesk & it was ready to use.
The N550 speaker lapdesk looks stylish & compact, not extremely light but not heavy either, really what I'd expect for it's size. The speakers are located at the back of the lapdesk, one in each corner. On the right side you have Volume Up, Volume Down & Mute, all 3 buttons worked without a hitch. The lapdesk is slightly elevated so my laptop keys now feel much easier to type on whether it's on a desk or on your lap.
First thing I did was play some music files to give those speakers a test, wow, I had to turn the speakers down, they have some awesome sound coming from these speakers. If I use my laptop on it's own I usually have to have the sound up nearly all the way to get some decent volume from them, well not with the speaker lapdesk attached. I was very impressed to say the least, now to see how it goes with a blu-ray playing. I tested the lapdesk watching The Crow, just as was the case when playing back music the N550 speaker lapdesk performed brilliantly, the sound was very clear & there was certainly no need to turn the volume up high to hear the quieter scenes in the movie.
For me I can see the N550 speaker lapdesk as the perfect companion when travelling, watching movies & listening to music away from home. At home the lapdesk would be perfect for doing work on the laptop while in bed or on the couch, no more feeling the burn of the hot laptop.
I only addition I could think of which would make the N550 speaker lapdesk even better would be perhaps a cooling fan to help keep a laptop or netbook cool or perhaps a range of colours.
I'm thinking I will have to fight with my wife for who gets use of the N550 most of the time, she is sure to appreciate its use in bed as we both have seperate laptops, well I guess I can always get her one for her birthday, problem solved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4nj0
from Sydney, NSW
Expertise: Tech Savvy

Simply Superb

Date:10 February 2011
First Impressions
The N550 feels light and sturdy while not being uncomfortable to use on your lap. This is because there is a soft air mesh in the bottom of the device that feels comfortable on your legs for long periods of time. The unit also has got small flip up grips that ensure that your laptop doesn't fall off when in use.
Performance
Once I plugged in the USB it was a painless installation as there are no drivers required to use the device. One slight hiccup was shortly after plugging it in I didn't realise that the volume was automatically switched to the max. This ended up giving me fright while being impressed on how loud the speakers can get. I tried playing a few songs of hard rock and electronica. The sound was simply superb and did not distort unless used at a really high volume. In movies the sound is a lot more immersive than the stock speakers on my laptop. I even tried playing Battlefield Bad Company 2 where it handled the in game sound extremely well that it is able to rival a good set of headphones.
Comfort
As I write this review I can feel no discomfort on my lap as the padded air mesh material holds up really well to extended use while keeping away heat from your lap.
Conclusion
It is hard to find a fault in this device as Logitech have designed the N550 really well and works as advertised. It keeps heat away from your lap while providing both a stable platform to use your laptop and better quality sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Speaker Lapdesk N550
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ergonomics 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LPT 10456
from nsw grafton
Expertise: Newbie

LPT 10456 logitech tester

Date:7 February 2011
recieved the speaker lapdesk N550 by delivery truck packaged in a cardboard box and logitech box recieved in great condition
my Eee pc sits nicely on the product with plenty of arm space
my Eee pc gets hot very fast so cant wait to use this plus the speakers are a bonus as i listen to music a lot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.